Country Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Super Quick Super Easy Super Delicious The name (Country? Bread?) is misleading. It should be called "Quick Banana Cake". There was NO WAY I was going to put 1 AND 1/3 cups oil into the mix. I put about 1/3 cup and that was plenty. I also added walnuts and/or pecans- about a cup to a cup and a half. Finally, I only cook the cake for 30 minutes. Before the cake has a chance to cool, it is gobbled up every time. I've made this several times now and everyone who has tried it absolutely RAVES about how good it is. Super Easy and Everyone Will Love You! It's also delicious if you use a chocolate cake mix as the base. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
added a shot of Captain morgan's silver, it was really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Use this recipe all the time. Use a spice cake mix and it will taste exactly like banana bread only lighter & fluffier. Only use 1 cup of oil. Add 1 tsp of vanilla. Chopped walnuts taste great with it too. Finally able to make a decent banana "bread" (actually more like cake), other recipes turned out like a heavy log. Try this one! Dress it up with a cream cheese frosting or serve it plain like a snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Just wonderful. I only had 2 ripe bananas so I cut it in half and made a 8 x 8 cake pan. I thought it was more of a cake than a bread so I made a glaze with confectioners sugar and put it on top of the cake while hot and sealed with aluminum foil so it could melt into the cake. Just wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I didn't use all the oil though. I used about a 1/2 cup of oil and that was more than enough. I was a little unsure about using cake mix for a banana bread but it was suprisingly good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORAKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
AWFUL- waste of ingredients!! I was horrified right after I poured in all that oil- where was MY common sense?? WAY too much oil- I went with it- because how do you get it out after pouring it in- but it was just not right. Do NOT use all that oil- ughhhhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
The outside of the bread - (cake?) -was tasty but the center was inedible. Maybe a jelly roll pan would work better than a 9 x 13 pan. It's a shame because I really like recipes with only a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Made this today using cupcake tray. They turned out perfect! Made 2 1/2 dozen cupcakes. Delicious & super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I think something went wrong with this one. It was cooked on the outside, but not in the center. It also had an oily feel to it. I may try again, just in a different pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States