Country Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This recipe works great if you use 1 cup of yogurt (I used lemon flavored) and a 1/3 cup of oil to replace the 1 1/3 cups of oil listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm back and yes it is good topped with philly strawberries and whip delicious .As many have stated I'm glad I only put 1/3 oil enjoy Tress
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I doubled this recipe to take to a church event. I used two boxes of yellow cake mix, 1 cup of no sugar added applesauce, 1/3 cup veg oil, 6 eggs, 8 mashed bananas and a couple teaspoons vanilla and banana extract. I baked it all in one large square pan for 40 mins. It tastes so good! I agree that it is more of a flavorful rich cake than dense bread but other than that, it is moist, tasty and is delicious without any type of topping. It will be a wonderful snack cake to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yummy! Super easy and very good! I added more bananas (5, I think) because I had that many. Topped this with the Cream Cheese frosting and everyone raved and asked for the recipe. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I used a boxed spice cake as suggested by another reviewer and also used 1/3 cup of oil, no water necessary! Scrumptious! Next time I will add some nuts, so much lighter than your standard banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe. I have made it twice in 2 weeks. I gave the recipe to my Mom who also loves it. We did as everyone and only used 1/3 c. oil and I added about 1/4 c. of water and 4 very ripe bananas and 1 and 1/4 c of nuts. I actually like this better than Banana Bread because it's easier and I like the taste. It is one of our go to recipes for sure now when we want to get rid of ripe bananas or for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have never made the original recipe and I read all the other reviews, so I decided to make this with a French Vanilla cake mix, 1/2 Teas. Vanilla, only 1/3 c. oil, and added choc. chips and walnuts 1 c each. Let it cook at 350 for 45 minutes. It was great tasting !!!! Yes I would make this recipe with my changes again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this recipe without adding any oil whatsoever. It was really tasty and throwing in a handful of chocolate chips ensured it was gone right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I tried the recipe as written - which I like to do before changing it. And yep, there is way too much oil for my taste. You could easily cut it in half. It is definatley more cake than bread. With that said I will use the recipe again becauase it is so easy! Probably will add some spices and definately much less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was SO good!!! And easy! I also only used 1/3 cup of oil and had to use french vanilla cake mix since I didn't have yellow. I was able to make 2 loaves with the batch and needless to say that less than 24 hours later, I only have half a loaf left!!! It's really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States