Country Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent! Followed exact recipe... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is a simple recipe for those who are broke and want something sweet without having to either spend too much or want to use what's on hand. I'll make this now with low-sugar cake mix, a cup of organic applesauce that I made with pumpkin pie or apple pie spice in place of some of the oil, 1/3 cup melted butter, and if I've got the ingredients, I'd frost it with cream cheese frosting. This never fails to disappear. This also makes great cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
YUM!!! What a great idea. I, too, cut the oil to about 1/3 cup and added all the bananas I had on hand that were inedibly old, which was 5. It turned out moist and delicious! I also added chocolate chips to appease the chocoholic in the family and it was great. Now it's Chocolate Chip Banana Cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 because it was so quick and easy, but the taste wasn't that great...it was kind of bitter, so I wonder if it was the mix I used or maybe it needed a little something more, like vanilla...I'm not ruling this out though...I always have bananas and this really was simple and it turned out very moist even though I cut the oil to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was a great dish.It was a hit with the whole family. I added some choc. chips. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I had 4 very ripe bananas and wanted to make banana bread but didn't feel like going through all the work. This recipe is good - but to give it a 4-star rating, I made a few adjustments: 2 eggs (the more eggs, the more cake-like); 1/3 cup oil (cound not imagine an add'l 1 cup, yuck); 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup ground flax seed, 1 cup toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Quick and easy. Hand mix. I add raisins/nuts. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. It's quick and simple. I work in a nursing home and made this as a treat for the residents and staff. I used the mini individual loaf pans and added a crumb topping. They loved it!! I got lots of compliments on it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was the best Banana Bread I have ever had. I used a spice cake mix and 1/3 cup of oil and it turned out just wonderful. I will be making this for years to come. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I was very happy to find a quick and delicious banana bread alternative. I first made this bread when I had sick children in the house, and needed to find a way to encourage them to eat. I swapped 1 cup unsweetened applesauce for part of the oil. I also added some chocolate chips. Very easy, and very yummy and moist. I can't wait to try this again with a spice cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States