Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe! I made one slight alteration though; after skinning and slicing the apples, I put them in a bowl with 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. I add water one tbsp at a time to make a pasty coating of the mixture over the apples before rolling them in the crescent roll dough. I served them warm with French vanilla ice cream. It made each dumpling like a miniature apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My boyfriend loves this desert.. I use strawberry ice cream or with chocolate ice cream.. I enjoyed this too. I am making it again tonight ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent, I'm a diabetic so I had to modify the ingredients. I used Splenda for the sugar and diet Dew for the soda. I was truly shocked that this turned out so well after the modifications. My husband had no idea I had substituted those items and was truly in love with these from jump!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Absolute heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. Even better the next day when reheated, so plan to make extras. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
UPDATE 2/14/15: Followed adjustments by Canadiancook: 1) coat the apples in cinnamon and sugar before wrapping 2) Use 2 parts white to 1 part brown sugar in the sauce. simmer until it makes a thick, rich caramel and pulls away from the side of the pot. then add 1 tsp. vanilla along with the cinnamon. I only made half a batch for the husband and myself...the dish was not as "soupy" as the first time I made it. I think boiling the sugar/butter mixture is the key. I found that using a cheaper crescent roll was not as good as Pillsbury brand; Pillsbury stretches nicely to cover the ends of the apples where the cheap brand did not. My Original Review: Easy and delicious...followed the recipe except for adding 1 tsp vanilla with the cinnamon to the butter/sugar mixture when it had thickened. Wow...RICH...but tasty! I would like to try it next time by reducing to: 3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent desert. I had so many comments on it I am very pleased with how it turned out and so easy. every one is shocked when I said there is mountain dew in it. Don't know why but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
We loved this and have made it twice-- easy, tasty way to make apple pie for desert even on a night you don't have much time. My family smells it cooking and comes out to the kitchen to see what's up!! Thanks for making a noncook look like I know what I am doing in the kitchen! I cut the recipe in half and only use one tube of crescent rolls. Plenty for a family of four with a small scoop of vanilla icecream placed on the side. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleida Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I loved these. I used ginger ale instead of mountain dew because I do not like mountain dew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States