Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
A friend gave me this recipe a few years back. It is fabulous!! We cook this on a regular basis when we are camping and use a dutch oven over the fire....the aroma makes all the other campers drool with envy (we do share IF there is any left!) This recipe is perfect as is...after all, it's dessert. Thanks to Christina B for the suggestion to use peaches! Next camping trip, we will be trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We use more fruit - 1/2 a small peach (our fave) or 1/4 a large apple), so you have to stretch the roll a bit, but the fruit doesn't have to be completely covered for this recipe to work. That gives it a little higher fruit-to-roll ratio, which we like. Also, any citrus soda works. Easy to make a half (or 1/4) recipe, so you don't eat everything all at once, which IS a SERIOUS temptation. Consider making 1/2 the can of crescent rolls for dinner and use the other half for dessert. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Sparkrecipes.com has a recipe calculator for calories of your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
OH MY GOODNESS is right!! To easy, fast and tasty*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
You should rely on your good sense while making this. 1 1/2 cups of sugar is TOO MUCH!!! 1 cup of butter is TOO MUCH. Halve the amount of sugar and butter without any regret. It would be even better with homemade pie dough and lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
The Apple Dumplings are to DIE for! This recipe reminds me so much of Apple Pie, but the mini version of it. Since I didn't have cinnamon ice cream, I served the apple dumplings with vanilla ice cream. It was a HUGE hit in my household, so I would like to try the pie crust for the Apple Dumplings instead of using cresent dough. Hopefully, it'll taste good!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I am always asked to make it for get-togethers! The first time I made it with a can of Mountain Dew. It was delicious but very mushy and the dough didn't seem to be cooked enough. Now I make it without the Mountain Dew and it's perfect. The sugar caramelizes on the bottom. Enjoy! Also, I recommend putting the baking dish on a cookie sheet in case it bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Loved it! This is easy and tastes yummy - though I did reduce to 1.5 sticks of butter, I probably could have done with 3/4 to 1 Cup of butter and less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Omg.. I usually don't write reviews on recipes... but this one is worth writing about it deserves it. I have made this dessert 3 times in less than 2 weeks. EVERYBODY HAS LOVED IT!! I did make some tweaks, recommended by a different reviewer and this just came out tasting amazing every time. This recipe has now become one of my favorites and I will use for years to come. Try it its worth it!!!! tweaks I did were to coat the apples in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon before wrapping in dough, in the sauce I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and added a tsp of vanilla extract. OMG ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yanirel Madera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,094) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States