Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is a surprisingly good recipe. Except for using extra cinnamon and using diet pop and Splenda, I followed the recipe. The only problem I have is that I couldn't taste the apple much. Maybe I had too much pastry. My boyfriend thinks that it would be really good to add a little glaze on top when they come out of the oven. Sounds good to me. Thanks for sharing, docswife... I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Shaffer
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
awesome. It's is a major hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Shaffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe! I made one slight alteration though; after skinning and slicing the apples, I put them in a bowl with 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. I add water one tbsp at a time to make a pasty coating of the mixture over the apples before rolling them in the crescent roll dough. I served them warm with French vanilla ice cream. It made each dumpling like a miniature apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My boyfriend loves this desert.. I use strawberry ice cream or with chocolate ice cream.. I enjoyed this too. I am making it again tonight ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent, I'm a diabetic so I had to modify the ingredients. I used Splenda for the sugar and diet Dew for the soda. I was truly shocked that this turned out so well after the modifications. My husband had no idea I had substituted those items and was truly in love with these from jump!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Absolute heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. Even better the next day when reheated, so plan to make extras. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
UPDATE 2/14/15: Followed adjustments by Canadiancook: 1) coat the apples in cinnamon and sugar before wrapping 2) Use 2 parts white to 1 part brown sugar in the sauce. simmer until it makes a thick, rich caramel and pulls away from the side of the pot. then add 1 tsp. vanilla along with the cinnamon. I only made half a batch for the husband and myself...the dish was not as "soupy" as the first time I made it. I think boiling the sugar/butter mixture is the key. I found that using a cheaper crescent roll was not as good as Pillsbury brand; Pillsbury stretches nicely to cover the ends of the apples where the cheap brand did not. My Original Review: Easy and delicious...followed the recipe except for adding 1 tsp vanilla with the cinnamon to the butter/sugar mixture when it had thickened. Wow...RICH...but tasty! I would like to try it next time by reducing to: 3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent desert. I had so many comments on it I am very pleased with how it turned out and so easy. every one is shocked when I said there is mountain dew in it. Don't know why but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States