Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I am always asked to make it for get-togethers! The first time I made it with a can of Mountain Dew. It was delicious but very mushy and the dough didn't seem to be cooked enough. Now I make it without the Mountain Dew and it's perfect. The sugar caramelizes on the bottom. Enjoy! Also, I recommend putting the baking dish on a cookie sheet in case it bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Loved it! This is easy and tastes yummy - though I did reduce to 1.5 sticks of butter, I probably could have done with 3/4 to 1 Cup of butter and less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Omg.. I usually don't write reviews on recipes... but this one is worth writing about it deserves it. I have made this dessert 3 times in less than 2 weeks. EVERYBODY HAS LOVED IT!! I did make some tweaks, recommended by a different reviewer and this just came out tasting amazing every time. This recipe has now become one of my favorites and I will use for years to come. Try it its worth it!!!! tweaks I did were to coat the apples in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon before wrapping in dough, in the sauce I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and added a tsp of vanilla extract. OMG ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yanirel Madera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
wonderful and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious sweet breakfast treat! Easy to make, and if Mt. Dew isn't on hand you can substitute with 7-up or Sprite. Today I'm trying with fresh peaches. They are about to go into the oven. That sounded like a fun summer alternative to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie La Mar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
great recipe, my 14 yr. old grandson found this & wanted to try it for sunday dessert. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Bourgoujian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
unimpressed. I love the simplicity of the recipe, and will keep looking with a similar use of crescent rolls. However, we didn't care for the texture. I wasn't looking for something restaurant qualty, I was looking for an easy weeknight fix. Perhaps it would have turned out different with different ratios of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this recipe, quick and easy dessert that surprises people when they hear the "secret" ingredient! I cut the Mountain Dew down just a bit, don't like it quite so syrupy. I have friend who uses peaches and Dr Pepper, can't wait to try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Made these tonight and my family LOVED it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolores Matarazzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is truly excellent and so easy to make! I did reduce the amount of butter and sugar by 1/4-1/2 -- I didn't measure it exactly because as the recipe makes clear the combination of butter, sugar, and cinnamon goes on top of the rolls. The modification made it considerably less sweet; the actual recipe produces a cloying end product so if you're being careful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,090) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States