Cottoneyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were a big hit yesterday for our New Years dinner. I won't be waiting until next New Years to make them again! Very simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good, but I found that it woks a little better if you saute the onion, garlic and celery in a little butter first -then add the remaining ingredients. This was a big hit !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for New Year's per the recipe except for the hot parts as I can't eat hot foods anymore. :-( It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for our New Year's party. It was so easy and really tasty! I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic in the bacon fat after cooking the bacon. I could not find jalapeno black eye peas so used three cans of seasoned peas and added 1 1/2 t. chopped jalapenos. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Finally a black eyed peas recipe with celery..This is the way I make them quickly (like for a week night dinner side). The peppers add just the right amount of KICK. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I'm not a big fan of black eyed peas but doctored up like this they were fantastic!!! The bacon really gave a great flavor to the dish. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this for our family's New Years dinner and it got RAVE reviews!!! It's the best way to serve black-eyed peas I have ever found! My mom was a little apprehensive because I didn't make the peas from "scratch" but changed her mind immediately after she tasted them. I used canned "seasoned" black-eyed peas and Hormel bacon bits instead of cooking bacon but it was fantastic! Definitely a keeper! It was SO easy too. I will make them for the next time I have to take a side dish to any event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waller, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was so easy! Everyone raved about how good it was and asked for the recipe, which I printed and gave it to them. With the little bit of leftover that I saved, I chopped up some cooked liver, mixed it with the beans, poured it into a baking dish then put a layer of sliced cheese, covered with mashed potatoes and baked at 350 for 30 mins. It was great. Thank you for this make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this for New Years Day. Went out and ice fished. The guys loved it. A good recipe. We eat black eyed peas offen. This was a different twist too just peas and ham hocks. Will be a special dish for those game days, and ice fishing party outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States