Cottoneyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for New Year's per the recipe except for the hot parts as I can't eat hot foods anymore. :-( It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was so easy! Everyone raved about how good it was and asked for the recipe, which I printed and gave it to them. With the little bit of leftover that I saved, I chopped up some cooked liver, mixed it with the beans, poured it into a baking dish then put a layer of sliced cheese, covered with mashed potatoes and baked at 350 for 30 mins. It was great. Thank you for this make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I souped this up, literally. I started with the recipe and "cleaned out the fridge" with these additions: about a cup of shredded carrots, about 3 to 4 cups of beef broth and maybe a lb of fresh spinach. Also upped the garlic by quite a bit and instead of salt used 1.5 t. of Creole seasoning. I had a small slice of ham and a single cheddar brat that I chopped and tossed in too. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this today for New Years Day & it is delicious! I used 4 cans of blackeyed peas, 2 plain & 2 with peppers in them. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. A dollop of sour cream was optional. I'll make this more than one time a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for our New Year's party. It was so easy and really tasty! I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic in the bacon fat after cooking the bacon. I could not find jalapeno black eye peas so used three cans of seasoned peas and added 1 1/2 t. chopped jalapenos. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
With the exception of the jalapeno this is the way we have always dressed up our black eyed peas. You can use fresh, dried, canned or frozen peas and it still taste great. I always cook my bacon, pour some of the bacon fat from the skillet and saute the celery & onions in the remaining bacon fat. I then add to the pot of peas that are cooking. We love it hot and spicy but, since there are still some little ones eating we serve the jalapeno on the side. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It has a good taste and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very easy and good - I didn't have bacon, so left that out, but I'm sure it would be good with bacon added, because what isn't?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I'm not a big fan of black eyed peas but doctored up like this they were fantastic!!! The bacon really gave a great flavor to the dish. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waller, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States