Cottoneyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Love this receipe. I altered it only by a couple of changes. I use 2 cans of black eye peas with snaps and 1 can of black eye peas with jalapeno. I also use one can of petite diced tomatoes with a small can of diced green chilis instead of the 1 can of Rotel. I also substitute ham diced into small pieces cooked with the other ingrediants...rather than topping with crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I cook this with fresh or frozen black-eyes in the crock pot. Add cornbread for a one-pot meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a hit! I stirred in some leftover ham rather than bacon, and I also added a can of sweet corn, which blended the flavors together beautifully. This will certainly be a regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for New Years and really enjoyed it. I also sauteed the veggies first, and have done it the bacon and another time with some chopped leftover ham. Great dish either way!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I omitted the bacon to make it vegetarian and served it with rice, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were okay. My husband liked them, but I did use onion powder and celery seed hoping others would eat it; otherwise, they would be pretty chunky with all the veggies. They were vinegary, probably from the rotel, but are a good chance of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have also used dry peas and just did a quick soak. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
tried this and it was ok... my three kids and husband were not fans. won't be making it again unless I would be home alone!!! Thanks tho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made a double recipe of this for a big party and everyone RAVED about it!! I adjusted for personal taste: more garlic, less tomatoes, added a small can of diced green chilis, some diced red bell pepper, and diced ham. For simplicity, I tossed everything in a crock pot and let it cook for several hours so the flavors would mingle. I served it right in the crock pot. SUPER EASY and delicious! Definitely a recipe to add to our favorites ... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We cooked this for our NYE Party, everyone seemed to like it a lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyanat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States