Cottoneyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I cook this with fresh or frozen black-eyes in the crock pot. Add cornbread for a one-pot meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a hit! I stirred in some leftover ham rather than bacon, and I also added a can of sweet corn, which blended the flavors together beautifully. This will certainly be a regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for New Years and really enjoyed it. I also sauteed the veggies first, and have done it the bacon and another time with some chopped leftover ham. Great dish either way!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I omitted the bacon to make it vegetarian and served it with rice, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were okay. My husband liked them, but I did use onion powder and celery seed hoping others would eat it; otherwise, they would be pretty chunky with all the veggies. They were vinegary, probably from the rotel, but are a good chance of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have also used dry peas and just did a quick soak. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
tried this and it was ok... my three kids and husband were not fans. won't be making it again unless I would be home alone!!! Thanks tho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made a double recipe of this for a big party and everyone RAVED about it!! I adjusted for personal taste: more garlic, less tomatoes, added a small can of diced green chilis, some diced red bell pepper, and diced ham. For simplicity, I tossed everything in a crock pot and let it cook for several hours so the flavors would mingle. I served it right in the crock pot. SUPER EASY and delicious! Definitely a recipe to add to our favorites ... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We cooked this for our NYE Party, everyone seemed to like it a lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyanat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this for New Years Day. Went out and ice fished. The guys loved it. A good recipe. We eat black eyed peas offen. This was a different twist too just peas and ham hocks. Will be a special dish for those game days, and ice fishing party outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States