Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, very simple and delicious! I will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Oh my gosh, this is so yummy! The only change was, I made it with butter instead of shorting. I served it with fresh strawberries and pineapple topped with homemade whipped cream with a bit of cream cheese in it. This is a dessert I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I've been looking for a simple but good shortcake recipe. I love strawberry shortcakes, and never made 1 myself. And this was my first 1 I made, and it seemed so easy compared to the rest. And so glad I picked this 1 to try. You won't be sorry to try this! I didn't have any strawberries, I just wanted to try it before i went out and bought some. And this is good all by itself! Yummy, I'm sure even better with the strawberries! And I read some of the other reviews, and some had different timing then what the recipe had said. Mine came out right on time, 25mins exactly. I guess it just depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and years, I sometimes add blueberries in the recipe and then use it with a hot brown sugar sauce over it, delicious. It is the only recipe I use for Strawberry shortcake. I have it in y recipe box as a "one egg cake", but the recipe is the same as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was shocked to see this recipe. My husband makes this and a home made chocolate sauce to go on top. He got the recipe from his mother 40 years ago..it is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been making a recipe that is very similar, only thing different is that some of the measurements of the ingredients are slightly less. I have been making this cake for 25+ years. Would not make anything else for our shortcake, the recipe can be doubled with no problems, just use a 11 x 13 or similar size pan and I have always greased the pan with some spray Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIECRAZYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is the One Egg Cake my mom would bake as an afterschool snack for us!(This was some fifty plus years ago!) It was the best! She would sometimes add orange or lemon zest to change it up! What a joy to find this recipe! I am going to bake one right now and surprise my mom w/ some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made it just like the directions... it did cook about an extra 17 mins to make the middle not doughy. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this last night for my bf's birthday cake. I followed the recipe to a T, and it came out perfect. I sliced it in half horizontally, filled & topped it with homemade strawberry whipped cream & strawberry purée. & ending it with sliced fresh strawberries on top. Best strawberry shortcake ever! Huge hit! Thank you. This is my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Oh. my. word. This is so super divine! It is SO fresh and moist and just wonderful!!! This is gonna be a regular in my house! Its so delicious it doesn't even need a topping! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States