Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is our favorite base for strawberries (or any other fruit). I prefer to use butter and this has to be extremely well creamed with sugar. You can also cut back on sugar by 1/4 cup. Do not overmix when adding flour and milk. These are just a few tips on this little gem of a cake being successful. Can also be used for an upside down cake - the possibilities are endless. Enjoy and thanks for submitting something straightforward and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
made this exactly as stated in recipe and it came out perfect. Great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this for the first time, and it is very good. We did eat it as shortcake, but is good alone. I even put too much shortening in by mistake and it still turned out good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pbrooks_2000
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This cake is, unfortunately, too good. I ate entirely more than my share! At first I thought the taste of baking powder was too strong, but later decided that was part of why I liked it so much. I did have to keep resetting the timer to get it done in the middle. So, my question is...should it be cake like in the center, or should I have pulled it out after 25 minutes, so it would be like pudding in the middle? Whatever...I like it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbrooks_2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I made it exactly as directed. I sprayed a 9x9 baking dish, sprayed it with non-stick spray, put down parchment paper, sprayed again, and it came out of the pan beautifully after cooling 10 min. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I also had to keep it in the oven longer. In total, almost 50 min in the oven for a toothpick "inserted into center comes out clean". It's late, and I'm really tired, BUT..I put my strawberry sauce and homemade whipped cream on top of a slice of it while it was still warm and my tummy is ooooooooh so happy! YUM! I would like to experiment with this recipe. Like adding perhaps 1/2 tsp of vanilla next time, maybe sub half the shortening with butter. Just for fun, NOT because it needs it. OH, also, DO NOT skimp on the sugar. Thank you! ps..I'd love to know why it's called Cottage Pudding cake lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.R.Sago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, very simple and delicious! I will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Oh my gosh, this is so yummy! The only change was, I made it with butter instead of shorting. I served it with fresh strawberries and pineapple topped with homemade whipped cream with a bit of cream cheese in it. This is a dessert I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I've been looking for a simple but good shortcake recipe. I love strawberry shortcakes, and never made 1 myself. And this was my first 1 I made, and it seemed so easy compared to the rest. And so glad I picked this 1 to try. You won't be sorry to try this! I didn't have any strawberries, I just wanted to try it before i went out and bought some. And this is good all by itself! Yummy, I'm sure even better with the strawberries! And I read some of the other reviews, and some had different timing then what the recipe had said. Mine came out right on time, 25mins exactly. I guess it just depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and years, I sometimes add blueberries in the recipe and then use it with a hot brown sugar sauce over it, delicious. It is the only recipe I use for Strawberry shortcake. I have it in y recipe box as a "one egg cake", but the recipe is the same as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was shocked to see this recipe. My husband makes this and a home made chocolate sauce to go on top. He got the recipe from his mother 40 years ago..it is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States