Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is exactly the one egg cake recipe my mum,then sisters, then me, then my nieces - well, you get the picture - made for our favorite b-day cake! With this cake, cut right from the pan, we'd pour homemade chocolate sauce/syrup or a lemon sauce. Sometimes I'd cook up a batch of pudding and use that for the sauce. I believe the name and the dish is one example of many New England quirkly named items from way back in the day. Ever hear of blueberry slump? Apple pan dowdy? Johnnycake? I think mum's recipe did not even have a heat level or time! Right now I'm salivating at the memory....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was delicious. Ran out of strawberries and whipped cream so we happily finished it off without. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Perfect! Just what I was looking for in a shortcake to have with strawberries and whipped cream. I used butter-flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
perfect. I don't like the crumbly biscuit shortcake, this is a mix between that and cake! Perfect with the strawberries that have been soaked in sugar, lime and tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I loved this cake. I will make again and again! I made it exactly as recipe stated. HOWEVER I needed to cook it almost 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Our prefferd cake for strawberry short cake..... However I did sub butter for veg shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanilla Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Lovely recipe! I did substitute butter for shortening, and it baked for much longer than 30min (about 40-50). I'm thinking next time I'll bake this in a half sheet pan to make serving strawberry shortcakes easier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for. Made this for my mother's birthday after she told me this was her and my grandfathers favorite way for for any kind of fruit shortcake wither it be strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, etc. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 13x9 backing dish and it had to bake for 50+ minutes for the center to cook but came out great. I even had a chunk with sausage gravy over it which was surprisingly quite excellent (course I had to have a second helping) LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Like other reviewers, it took about 50 min. to bake. I believe I should have used two pans instead of one and of course, it probably would have cooked in 25 min. In the directions, you will notice the person who submitted the recipe used the word PANS instead of pan. Therefore, I believe two pans are needed instead of one. I was not impressed with the cake, but my husband liked it. He's like Mikey though, he will eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a KEEPER! The only swap I made was to use butter in place of the shortening. This was perfectly moist w/ the right amount of sweetness. I could see this being a great base to morph other recipes off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States