Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fabulous! I can't stay out of it. So, sooooo good! Mine did take an extra 14 min. to bake....not sure why. I double checked my oven temp & it was right on but maybe it wasn't hot enough to start?? IDK, just keep that in mind, just in case you have to bake longer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is a good shortcake for strawberries. It rose up nicely and baked well, although I had to bake for 16 additional minutes as it was no where near done at the 25 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful cake to serve as the base for strawberry shortcake. The cake soaked up the syrup nicely. We really enjoyed this easy to put together cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed others' suggestions and substituted butter for shortening and did not make any other changes to the batter ingredients. I chose to make cupcakes (1 dozen) out of the batter. I greased (w/shortening) and floured each cup in the pan. I like to use a regular sized ice cream disher for measuring out batter into cupcake/muffin tins, and I was able to fit one leveled scoop of batter plus maybe a third into each cup in the tin. **This did require a lot of scraping of the bowl and the disher to fill each of the 12 cups equally. Baked at 350F for 20 minutes and they came out just barely browned around the edges. The taste is plain for us just by itself, but it will be perfect for individual strawberry shortcakes. **We live in Northern CO and also have a gas oven; I would watch carefully if you choose to bake these as cupcakes to make sure they don't get dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I work at a special needs hospital, the clients and staff alike love this shortcake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is exactly the one egg cake recipe my mum,then sisters, then me, then my nieces - well, you get the picture - made for our favorite b-day cake! With this cake, cut right from the pan, we'd pour homemade chocolate sauce/syrup or a lemon sauce. Sometimes I'd cook up a batch of pudding and use that for the sauce. I believe the name and the dish is one example of many New England quirkly named items from way back in the day. Ever hear of blueberry slump? Apple pan dowdy? Johnnycake? I think mum's recipe did not even have a heat level or time! Right now I'm salivating at the memory....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was delicious. Ran out of strawberries and whipped cream so we happily finished it off without. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Perfect! Just what I was looking for in a shortcake to have with strawberries and whipped cream. I used butter-flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
perfect. I don't like the crumbly biscuit shortcake, this is a mix between that and cake! Perfect with the strawberries that have been soaked in sugar, lime and tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I loved this cake. I will make again and again! I made it exactly as recipe stated. HOWEVER I needed to cook it almost 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States