Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
While I only make strawberry shortcake a couple times each year, it's the dessert I enjoy most of all. Strawberries in season macerated in sugar, a big bowl of heavy cream whipped with a little bit of superfine sugar...but then came the problem of the shortcake. Over time, I've tried many kinds of 'shortcake' and while some were quite lovely, nothing made me stop searching for something better. Until now. THIS IS WHERE MY QUEST ENDS. The only modification I made to this recipe was to double it and bake it in a 10x14" pan. I didn't substitute anything, so as to be able to judge the recipe as written. It's perfection - a sticky, tender, just-sweet-enough crumb that happily soaks up strawberry juice and is the peerless hybrid of biscuit and cake. I'll never make another shortcake! Thank you so much to Kaylene for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemydanes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I've made this a bunch of times- doubled it for a crowd, made it in muffin tins, used it for pineapple upside down cake. It's great no matter what you do to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skweeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
So delicious! My number one choice for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Didn't & wouldn't change a thing!! Browsing through recipes today, & saw this shortcake, same as mine !!! Got recipe from our neighborhood grandma!!! Remember when growing up there was always a grandma in the neighborhood !! Mine was grandma B& she was great!!! Anyway only thing different? She sprinkled sugar on top before baking, but I swear, she put sugar on top of everything!!! Never had any problems with recipe, why try to fix it, when it isn't broke? Enjoy All-Recipes site!!!! So, saved to recipe box, that way can share also!! C.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This Cake is fantastic! It's easy to make, it's sweet, but not overly sweet. I didn't change a thing, didn't have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I misread the size for the pan and I had to bake it another 15 minutes because I used an 8" square. Thanks for posting this recipe. Perfect for these strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
When I was looking for a cake for the strawberry shortcakes a client requested, I tried this one. It got such amazing reviews. The taste was somewhere between a biscuit and a cake, tender, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness to compliment the berries. Topped with homemade whipped cream and it's a hit! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is an easy recipe that yields a really moist, tasty cake. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this the other day for my family. My 9 year old now calls it his favourite cake! Making it again today I also swapped the shortening for becel margerine, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe. It was awesome. My husband loved it and so did our friends. The best shortcake I have made in a long time. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States