Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
When I was looking for a cake for the strawberry shortcakes a client requested, I tried this one. It got such amazing reviews. The taste was somewhere between a biscuit and a cake, tender, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness to compliment the berries. Topped with homemade whipped cream and it's a hit! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is an easy recipe that yields a really moist, tasty cake. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this the other day for my family. My 9 year old now calls it his favourite cake! Making it again today I also swapped the shortening for becel margerine, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe. It was awesome. My husband loved it and so did our friends. The best shortcake I have made in a long time. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this a few days before Easter and I froze it for freshness. Once thawed I topped it with whipped cream and strawberries. It was dense and moist. Really good for the whip creme and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fabulous! I can't stay out of it. So, sooooo good! Mine did take an extra 14 min. to bake....not sure why. I double checked my oven temp & it was right on but maybe it wasn't hot enough to start?? IDK, just keep that in mind, just in case you have to bake longer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is a good shortcake for strawberries. It rose up nicely and baked well, although I had to bake for 16 additional minutes as it was no where near done at the 25 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful cake to serve as the base for strawberry shortcake. The cake soaked up the syrup nicely. We really enjoyed this easy to put together cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed others' suggestions and substituted butter for shortening and did not make any other changes to the batter ingredients. I chose to make cupcakes (1 dozen) out of the batter. I greased (w/shortening) and floured each cup in the pan. I like to use a regular sized ice cream disher for measuring out batter into cupcake/muffin tins, and I was able to fit one leveled scoop of batter plus maybe a third into each cup in the tin. **This did require a lot of scraping of the bowl and the disher to fill each of the 12 cups equally. Baked at 350F for 20 minutes and they came out just barely browned around the edges. The taste is plain for us just by itself, but it will be perfect for individual strawberry shortcakes. **We live in Northern CO and also have a gas oven; I would watch carefully if you choose to bake these as cupcakes to make sure they don't get dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I work at a special needs hospital, the clients and staff alike love this shortcake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States