Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Didn't & wouldn't change a thing!! Browsing through recipes today, & saw this shortcake, same as mine !!! Got recipe from our neighborhood grandma!!! Remember when growing up there was always a grandma in the neighborhood !! Mine was grandma B& she was great!!! Anyway only thing different? She sprinkled sugar on top before baking, but I swear, she put sugar on top of everything!!! Never had any problems with recipe, why try to fix it, when it isn't broke? Enjoy All-Recipes site!!!! So, saved to recipe box, that way can share also!! C.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This Cake is fantastic! It's easy to make, it's sweet, but not overly sweet. I didn't change a thing, didn't have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I misread the size for the pan and I had to bake it another 15 minutes because I used an 8" square. Thanks for posting this recipe. Perfect for these strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
When I was looking for a cake for the strawberry shortcakes a client requested, I tried this one. It got such amazing reviews. The taste was somewhere between a biscuit and a cake, tender, moist, and just the right amount of sweetness to compliment the berries. Topped with homemade whipped cream and it's a hit! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is an easy recipe that yields a really moist, tasty cake. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this the other day for my family. My 9 year old now calls it his favourite cake! Making it again today I also swapped the shortening for becel margerine, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe. It was awesome. My husband loved it and so did our friends. The best shortcake I have made in a long time. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this a few days before Easter and I froze it for freshness. Once thawed I topped it with whipped cream and strawberries. It was dense and moist. Really good for the whip creme and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fabulous! I can't stay out of it. So, sooooo good! Mine did take an extra 14 min. to bake....not sure why. I double checked my oven temp & it was right on but maybe it wasn't hot enough to start?? IDK, just keep that in mind, just in case you have to bake longer also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is a good shortcake for strawberries. It rose up nicely and baked well, although I had to bake for 16 additional minutes as it was no where near done at the 25 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States