Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Wow, this was really good! The cake, without any fruit, was amazing. I made mine as pineapple upside down. I did double the amount of brown sugar and butter it call for the bottom of the pan, wich was, to my taste, a very good choice. The other thing I made different was 1/2 cup unsalted butter, just 1/2 cup sugar, and I sifted the flour with the baking powder, I don´t know why i did it because the recipe does not call for that step, but was glad I did, the cake was super moist, it was like eating silk, the flavour and texture was spectacular. I will try this again, for sure, with other fruits, but also without any fruit and this time, with no fruit, I will use 2/3 cups of sugar. I really don´t like very sweet deserts, thats why when the cake is with fruit 1/2 cup of sugar is enough, but if there is no fruit, then I will need a little more sugar to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was yummy. I made it as a pineapple upside down cake and everyone liked it. In place of shortening I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. Enova oil, but I think I'd use all butter next time. As another reviewer suggested, I used 3/4 c sugar instead of a whole cup and it certainly didn't need more. Next time I'll make a little more of the butter/brown sugar mixture to put on the bottom because it was a smidge dry, but the flavor was really good. Certainly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Seriously easy, seriously fast, seriously moist and oh-so-delicious. I added about 1/4 cup of pineapple juice to the batter and it gave it a little extra "oomph."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I have made this at least twice a week for the last 3 weeks! I can't seem to keep it in the house. They eat it as fast as I make it. I have passed it on to a couple of people who have had the same results. Extra yummy with vanilla ice cream!!! I always double and bake in a 9 x 13. It's simple and DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
Wow!!!! I cannot believe I found something this delicious. I have made it for guests and it was such a hit. It's very moist and great to eat while it's still warm. One suggestion is that it is very sweet and I have therefore modified the sugar from 1 cup to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! I used Pineapple Rings and put Marischino Cherries in the centers but will skip the cherries next time as no one at them. My family of 5 ate all but one slice of this cake in one sitting and that was after a rather large dinner! I used butter...not a fan of Crisco. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used 4T. butter in the topping. My family requested more "goo" next time so I will double the butter and brown sugar and see how that works. I made this in my favorite cast iron skillet and it came out easily. This one is definately going in the recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent! Thank You for the recipe. I used Splenda Brown Sugar and 1/2 Cup of Splenda and reduced sugar to 1/2 Cup. Family Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Very good, but next time I will double up on the apples and add some cinnamon/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Our group LOVED this warm from the oven. I am rating this based on the use of HALF the white sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, and butter replacing shortening in the cake. Very moist! The men and boys raved! I did not skimp on the butter/brown sugar topping. I did, however, double the recipe in a 13x9 pan, and turned it out onto a baking tray. I think it would be even better in 2 square or 11x7 pans, so the edges can crisp up... Heath Bar ice cream was a good accompaniment =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States