Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Wow, this was really good! The cake, without any fruit, was amazing. I made mine as pineapple upside down. I did double the amount of brown sugar and butter it call for the bottom of the pan, wich was, to my taste, a very good choice. The other thing I made different was 1/2 cup unsalted butter, just 1/2 cup sugar, and I sifted the flour with the baking powder, I don´t know why i did it because the recipe does not call for that step, but was glad I did, the cake was super moist, it was like eating silk, the flavour and texture was spectacular. I will try this again, for sure, with other fruits, but also without any fruit and this time, with no fruit, I will use 2/3 cups of sugar. I really don´t like very sweet deserts, thats why when the cake is with fruit 1/2 cup of sugar is enough, but if there is no fruit, then I will need a little more sugar to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This cake was excellent. I made the following adjustments. I cut the sugar in half, using only 1/2 cup. I doubled the melted butter and brown sugar for the bottom of the pan. I used one 15 oz. can of crushed pineapple (mostly drained). I made this for a dinner party and it was perfect. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
When I do this cake with apples I add cinnamon to the butter,brown sugar and apples. It is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This was my very first cake from scratch and it was WONDERFUL. Made it into a pineapple upside down cake, but I'm making it again tonight with freshly sliced apples. I also want to say that although it doesn't taste like the box cake, which is what I'm used to, it is incredible, it only lasted about 4 hours in my house, lol, and it's just me and two toddlers! Thanks so much, I'll be making this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I really like the texture of this cake. Since I doubled the recipe, I ended up putting 4 teaspoons of baking powder in it, and that seemed too much, because the flavor was somewhat like that of a biscuit. I made it with 2 8-oz cans of crushed pineapple, drained. With the exception of the baking powder flavor, we enjoyed it. It was good for breakfast the next day, too! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
March, 2007 = This recipe is delicious! I made a pineapple upside down cake with sliced canned pineapple and a cherry in the center of each one. Hadn't made one ever before and it came out perfect. I baked it in an 8" round pan for 50 minutes, then let the pan stand on a rack for 3 minutes before inverting it on a serving plate and letting it stand for another 3 minutes. Pan came off easily and the cake was beautiful. Have had requests to make it again. August, 2009 I first reviewed this recipe in March, 2007 and have made this as a pineapple upside down cake many times since. Yesterday, day when I went to make it I found I had no cherries to put in the center of each ring. There were a few fresh blueberries left, so I dropped 3-4 in the center of each ring and then sprinkled the remaining berries all around the pineapple slices. What a beauty it produced - cooked berries all over the top, with the pineapple rings decorating it. The blueberries and pineapple is an absolutely delicious taste combination - try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
very good and super moist. used two large apples and hwen they baked, became so soft and sweet. i liked the cake better hte next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We loved this recipe. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans on top of the apples. It was great. Thanks! My husband said it reminded him of something his mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Seriously easy, seriously fast, seriously moist and oh-so-delicious. I added about 1/4 cup of pineapple juice to the batter and it gave it a little extra "oomph."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Thankyou for a lovely recipe, I made it with apple and a mango and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States