Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Great recipe! Quick and easy. . . to make it healthier, I used 1/4 C of unsweetened apple sauce and 1/4 C of vanilla low fat yogurt (def. reduce sugar if using this substitution) in place of the shortening. Found that I did not need to add vanilla and did not use as much milk in the batter. Would add some oats to the batter next time with the low fat version to make the cake part denser as it lost some of its texture with substitution- still, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
a very good cake!!!!! i made once with pineapples and once with peaches!! very tasty i will be making this agian. the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
this was a great recipe. it was easy and quick. i gave it a 4 because it was way too sweet. i will definatly reduce the sugar next time, but there will for sure be a next time! we tried pineapple this time, i cant wait to try different fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This cake was good, but not five star material IMHO. First of all, it should not be called cottage "pudding," as it is essentially a cross between a pound cake and an angel food cake. I topped it with raspberries, which was OK, but really was too many seeds. It sort of tasted like jam on top of pound cake when it was done. But, I don't think it's fair to judge a recipe based on substitutions, so I rated the cake part, not the cake as I made it. If I had, this would have been 3 stars, not four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by India74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was delicious! I made it for my family, and they all loved it. I doubled the brown sugar and butter part, though, and used only two apples. Also, I suggest that you cook it for over 50 minutes, because mine turned out to be a little doughy in some parts. I also sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on it, and it was great! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The only reason this recipe doesn't get five stars is because one REALLY should double the butter/sugar topping. Also, as per other reviewers' advice, the sugar in the cake batter may be lessened. Other than that, this recipe is wonderful. For a more sophisticated version, use fresh pears and add 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom to the cake batter. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
it is my favorite upside down cake , i increase the butter by 1 tbsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was such a great cake, and so easy! The only change I made was to use 4 Tbls of butter instead of 3 and to use 1/2 cup of butter instead of shortening. I had all of the ingredients on hand for a short notice dessert. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Our group LOVED this warm from the oven. I am rating this based on the use of HALF the white sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, and butter replacing shortening in the cake. Very moist! The men and boys raved! I did not skimp on the butter/brown sugar topping. I did, however, double the recipe in a 13x9 pan, and turned it out onto a baking tray. I think it would be even better in 2 square or 11x7 pans, so the edges can crisp up... Heath Bar ice cream was a good accompaniment =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! I used Pineapple Rings and put Marischino Cherries in the centers but will skip the cherries next time as no one at them. My family of 5 ate all but one slice of this cake in one sitting and that was after a rather large dinner! I used butter...not a fan of Crisco. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used 4T. butter in the topping. My family requested more "goo" next time so I will double the butter and brown sugar and see how that works. I made this in my favorite cast iron skillet and it came out easily. This one is definately going in the recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kulp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States