Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Made this for a group of teens!! They loved it!! Next time going to try fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is very nice and it was so simple, fantastic warm with vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I did change a few things. Added 1 tablespoon more butter and 1/4 more brown sugar. WIsh I used more butter and brown sugar for top. Used butter instead of shorting, double apples, cinnamon and pecans under the cake mixture.I thought the cake part (used cake flour) was incredible... Will make cake with pineapple next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is a great cake! I only rated it four stars because I have made some changes to the recipe. I use unsalted butter instead of shortening and I use pineapple instead of apples. I use about 1/2 of the pineapple juice. I also sift the flour, baking powder and salt about two times which makes the cake very smooth. My family raves over it. My husband is a pineapple upside down cake freak and he tells me it is his favorite ever. Of course, that could be because he loves me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
i havn't had an upside down cake since i was a kid and i forgot how good they are. Really quick and easy too.I doubled the brown sugar and butter glaze and kept everything else the same. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is perfect when you just don't feel like going to the trouble of putting together an apple pie. I noticed many reviewers mentioned cutting down on the sugar in the cake batter but then doubled the sugar topping which means you end up with the same amount overall! I went with it as written with the exception of adding a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon over the apples. Had to scrape some of the apple topping out of the pan after inverting. It was really great warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This cake was great. We went apple picking this fall and I am still using up all of the apples I froze. I sent the recipe to everyone in my family who went apple picking too. Since I didn't have ice cream I used the Brown Sugar Sauce on this site. It is really good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is so yummy. I doubled the brown sugar and butter topping (and used 5 smallish granny smiths to finish them up) and only put 1/2 cup white sugar in the batter - per other reviewers - and it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Yum yum yum.. This is very delicious. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup as recommended. Reduced apples to 2 large apples, and added some cinnamon on top of them. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Made this following the recipe exactly. No one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States