Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Amazing!! My family LOVED this and I will be making it over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Wonderful! Easy, fast & delicious! I made them in individual ramekins - had them warm with fresh cream. Husband raved about it and said that it could simply come from a fancy restaurant. I reduced white sugar but generous on brown sugar & butter. Will make this again and again with different fruits as it is so versatile. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe is the perfect base for a pineapple upside down cake. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used half and half instead of milk and I used orange extract instead of vanilla (just because I get tired of using vanilla). The orange flavor in the cake put it over the top!!! I am about to eat my second piece. Thanks for this recipe, it is definitely going in my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Rah Rah Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I use this recipe (just the cake) to make a different cottage pudding. Just make the cake, then on the top of the stove make a thin chocolate sauce (2/3 c. cocoa, 1 cup sugar, 1 1/4 cups water, boil for 1 min, stirring, then take off heat and add 1 tsp. vanilla) and serve it warm over the cake. It is meant to be runny, and it soaks up into the cake...sooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Huntley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! A note on the amount of sugar: this cake tastes much sweeter once it has cooled. I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup and regretted it while the cake was still warm, but when I had a piece the next day the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker75463

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
To die for! I can not make this again....I've made it twice in 1 week & I keep eating the whole thing!!! When adding the sliced apples, I also add around 1/4 cup of chopped, toasted pecans. Very good with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Wow, that was pretty amazing. I wish I could give 4 1/2 stars because I think this is worthy of more than 4, but I didn't want to give it a full 5, either. I used nectarines and raspberries and it was sooo good! The first bite was ok, but then I really liked it so I'm not sure why I wasn't happy with the first bite...which is why I didn't give it the full 5 stars. I used significantly more fruit and the raspberries were tart, so I doubled the brown sugar and butter mixture. That was a mistake. It tasted good, but was pretty sweet and it didn't set like the picture which I was disappointed about. I also baked it for about 65 minutes. Next time I'll try using only the 3tbs of butter and 1/2 cup of brown sugar even if I do use more fruit. Sounds like this recipe is wonderful with any fruit. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe pretty closely-after reading the reviews I made the topping w/ about a Tbsp. more brown sugar, & the fruit I used was a combination of some smashed fresh blueberries & some undrained crushed pineapple-what was left after I took out 1 cup (for another recipe) from a 20 oz. can. I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon. For the cake part I used butter flavored shortening & a bit less of the white sugar-maybe 2 Tbsps. less. I used a bit less salt & the milk was non-fat. I served it w/whipped cream over it & there were 4 yummy servings. Yes, we're big dessert eaters! I will definetely be making this again & try some of the variations. Thanks, Sandra for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this with peaches. I did not have a round plate big enough to tip it neatly onto, so part of it broke- but that was totally my fault. The taste was wonderful. Next time I will try it with a different fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
very moist cake. I thought it was really good, but some thought it was TOO moist to the point that it was a bit doughy. That's why it gave it 4* instead of 5*. I was inspired by one of the posted pics and made it with two cups of blueberries instead of apples. I added flour to them to absorb some of the excess moisture. Followed the rest exactly. Came out really great with the blueberries too! If it was only for me, I would give it a 5 stars. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States