Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is an exellent recipe,very quick and easy. I used apple slices(yummy),when it was done I left it sit for 10 mins.,then I put a cake holder on top of the dish that I baked it in and flipped it.WHALA the apples are on top.Great with choco. or vanilla ice-cream on top.I have made this a few times and will make it again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Delicious, and easy too! I used sliced, canned pinapple in syrup instead of the apples. It got rave reviews from two very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This is yummy! Very moist and crumbly; holds together fine being inverted from the pan. I especially appreciated the fact that this is a smaller cake, which is what I prefer for this. Delicious with a dollop of whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is the easiest, best pineapple upside down cake ever!!!! I just used canned sliced fruit and cherries. Just like my Grandma used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was simply amazing, and super easy. I used a cast iron skillet, melted the butter on the stove top, sprinkled the brown sugar, used sliced, drained pineapple and cherries, poured the batter over and baked it. WOW ! Just like my Gram used to make. If you like it warm...and it's truly best warm....you can nuke it and it's still great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is the very best pineapple upside down cake I have ever had. Very moist. This is definitely a keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is great! I've made it twice now once using fresh strawberries and once with frozen raspberries. Both were de-lish! It's moist, sweet and it inverts beautifully! I don't always have the best of luck with desserts but I think this is one I have easily mastered! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I have made this at least twice a week for the last 3 weeks! I can't seem to keep it in the house. They eat it as fast as I make it. I have passed it on to a couple of people who have had the same results. Extra yummy with vanilla ice cream!!! I always double and bake in a 9 x 13. It's simple and DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
mmmmmm, i turned this very yummy recipe into a pineapple upside cake for for my boyfriend's birthday. no changes were made to the batter part & 2% milk worked fine. i even made the batter a day ahead of time then stirred it a few times before baking in an 8" cast iron skillet. we really loved the taste & texture! thank you sandra, it's easy to see why this recipe is your husband's favorite! someday i'll try it with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Absolutely wonderful....will make again...very moist..I used pineapple...am excited to try other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States