Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Wow, this was really good! The cake, without any fruit, was amazing. I made mine as pineapple upside down. I did double the amount of brown sugar and butter it call for the bottom of the pan, wich was, to my taste, a very good choice. The other thing I made different was 1/2 cup unsalted butter, just 1/2 cup sugar, and I sifted the flour with the baking powder, I don´t know why i did it because the recipe does not call for that step, but was glad I did, the cake was super moist, it was like eating silk, the flavour and texture was spectacular. I will try this again, for sure, with other fruits, but also without any fruit and this time, with no fruit, I will use 2/3 cups of sugar. I really don´t like very sweet deserts, thats why when the cake is with fruit 1/2 cup of sugar is enough, but if there is no fruit, then I will need a little more sugar to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was yummy. I made it as a pineapple upside down cake and everyone liked it. In place of shortening I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. Enova oil, but I think I'd use all butter next time. As another reviewer suggested, I used 3/4 c sugar instead of a whole cup and it certainly didn't need more. Next time I'll make a little more of the butter/brown sugar mixture to put on the bottom because it was a smidge dry, but the flavor was really good. Certainly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Seriously easy, seriously fast, seriously moist and oh-so-delicious. I added about 1/4 cup of pineapple juice to the batter and it gave it a little extra "oomph."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I have made this at least twice a week for the last 3 weeks! I can't seem to keep it in the house. They eat it as fast as I make it. I have passed it on to a couple of people who have had the same results. Extra yummy with vanilla ice cream!!! I always double and bake in a 9 x 13. It's simple and DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
Wow!!!! I cannot believe I found something this delicious. I have made it for guests and it was such a hit. It's very moist and great to eat while it's still warm. One suggestion is that it is very sweet and I have therefore modified the sugar from 1 cup to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! I used Pineapple Rings and put Marischino Cherries in the centers but will skip the cherries next time as no one at them. My family of 5 ate all but one slice of this cake in one sitting and that was after a rather large dinner! I used butter...not a fan of Crisco. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used 4T. butter in the topping. My family requested more "goo" next time so I will double the butter and brown sugar and see how that works. I made this in my favorite cast iron skillet and it came out easily. This one is definately going in the recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent! Thank You for the recipe. I used Splenda Brown Sugar and 1/2 Cup of Splenda and reduced sugar to 1/2 Cup. Family Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Very good, but next time I will double up on the apples and add some cinnamon/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Our group LOVED this warm from the oven. I am rating this based on the use of HALF the white sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, and butter replacing shortening in the cake. Very moist! The men and boys raved! I did not skimp on the butter/brown sugar topping. I did, however, double the recipe in a 13x9 pan, and turned it out onto a baking tray. I think it would be even better in 2 square or 11x7 pans, so the edges can crisp up... Heath Bar ice cream was a good accompaniment =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States