Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I just took this out of the oven and it is soooooo good! Just like Mom used to make. I made it with the apples this time, but will try other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent! Thank You for the recipe. I used Splenda Brown Sugar and 1/2 Cup of Splenda and reduced sugar to 1/2 Cup. Family Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This recipe is unmatched! I made it for the first time for a party and it was a hit all around--and I had a picky crowd--inlaws! The only thing I did different, to insure it was moist enough, was to break up the pineapple into pieces to cover the whole bottom of the pan, rather than leave them in the traditional rings. When I served it, I kept it pineapple side down, like a cobbler, and topped it with whipped cream. My mother-in-law thinks I'm a genious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Delicious! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe is a keeper, however, my first time making it wasn't as good as it could be. I used too small a can of peaches, so the cake definetly could have used more fruit. The cake part was excellent, though! Next time I make it, I will use pineapple and plenty of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Heavenly! I made this as a pineapple upside down cake for a party. No one knew who made it and I loved hearing guests tell each other to try the cake because it was so great. The only change I made was that I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. Truthfully, I don't know if it made a difference. The cake was sweet but not overly sweet in my opinion. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!! Everyone loved it & it is HIGHLY recommended! A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was yummy. I made it as a pineapple upside down cake and everyone liked it. In place of shortening I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. Enova oil, but I think I'd use all butter next time. As another reviewer suggested, I used 3/4 c sugar instead of a whole cup and it certainly didn't need more. Next time I'll make a little more of the butter/brown sugar mixture to put on the bottom because it was a smidge dry, but the flavor was really good. Certainly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
this was very good. i used crushed pineapple (drained) & threw in some raisins. i also substituted 1/4 cup butter & 1/4 cup canola oil in the batter instead of using shortening to make it a little healthier. cake was very moist...turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Absolutely wonderful....will make again...very moist..I used pineapple...am excited to try other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States