Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Fairly good but much too sweet. I like my upside down cake with pineapple or peaches. They are more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this with peaches and it was delicious. Will definitely make it again and try different fruits. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
works well in an 8X8 dish also. used pineapple with marichino cherry in the middle of each. best part was i made the butter/brownsugar/pineapple part, put it in the 8X8, covered it and put it in the frige (for 24hrs) until i was ready to make the dessert. it was easy to whip up the cake part then add it to to what i had prepared earlier. had it cooking in the over during dinner...turned out great! really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wonderful! My Mum picked it out (very picky) and I made it with butter instead of shortening. She LOVED it -- just like the cake her Mum used to make. Great texture, density, flavour. Making again for Christmas Eve Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very easy and a great way to use the local apples that are in season. I used 1/4 cup of unsalted butter in place of shortening and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. Next time, I may add some nuts and cinnamon in with the apple topping. Might also try adding a little apple butter to the cake mixture. Addition: I have used 1/3 cup applesauce in place of an egg for this recipe which makes the cake incredibly moist and adds a little more apple flavor. I have also used 1/3 cup of pearsauce from Trader Joe's which was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, perfect with vanilla ice cream!!! I did make a couple of changes: added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little ginger to the batter; I also used a can of apple pie filling that I had on hand. It baked for one hour and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The cake is to die for, really good! I disagree about doubling up on the butter/brown sugar base; it was too much for a small square pan. I used pineapple, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made it with apples and it was quite tasty. My cake was a little crumbly, but still very good. I liked have just a small cake that won't sit around for days before getting eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Surprisingly yummy. I was amazed at how moist the cake was and how it was hard to stop eating! I used pineapples the first time around and plan on making it again with apples. Easy, different and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe! I use butter instead of shortening and reduce the white sugar to 3/4 of a cup. Took another reviewers suggestion to make it in my 12 inch cast iron pan. Fast, easy, scrumptious and only one pan! We pour a little carmel sauce over it and it doesn't even need ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States