Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Made it just as described...it tasted GREAT! We did it in muffin cups (made 16).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Fairly good but much too sweet. I like my upside down cake with pineapple or peaches. They are more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this with peaches and it was delicious. Will definitely make it again and try different fruits. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
works well in an 8X8 dish also. used pineapple with marichino cherry in the middle of each. best part was i made the butter/brownsugar/pineapple part, put it in the 8X8, covered it and put it in the frige (for 24hrs) until i was ready to make the dessert. it was easy to whip up the cake part then add it to to what i had prepared earlier. had it cooking in the over during dinner...turned out great! really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Wonderful! My Mum picked it out (very picky) and I made it with butter instead of shortening. She LOVED it -- just like the cake her Mum used to make. Great texture, density, flavour. Making again for Christmas Eve Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very easy and a great way to use the local apples that are in season. I used 1/4 cup of unsalted butter in place of shortening and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. Next time, I may add some nuts and cinnamon in with the apple topping. Might also try adding a little apple butter to the cake mixture. Addition: I have used 1/3 cup applesauce in place of an egg for this recipe which makes the cake incredibly moist and adds a little more apple flavor. I have also used 1/3 cup of pearsauce from Trader Joe's which was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, perfect with vanilla ice cream!!! I did make a couple of changes: added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little ginger to the batter; I also used a can of apple pie filling that I had on hand. It baked for one hour and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The cake is to die for, really good! I disagree about doubling up on the butter/brown sugar base; it was too much for a small square pan. I used pineapple, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made it with apples and it was quite tasty. My cake was a little crumbly, but still very good. I liked have just a small cake that won't sit around for days before getting eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Surprisingly yummy. I was amazed at how moist the cake was and how it was hard to stop eating! I used pineapples the first time around and plan on making it again with apples. Easy, different and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States