Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
a very good cake!!!!! i made once with pineapples and once with peaches!! very tasty i will be making this agian. the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
this was a great recipe. it was easy and quick. i gave it a 4 because it was way too sweet. i will definatly reduce the sugar next time, but there will for sure be a next time! we tried pineapple this time, i cant wait to try different fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This cake was good, but not five star material IMHO. First of all, it should not be called cottage "pudding," as it is essentially a cross between a pound cake and an angel food cake. I topped it with raspberries, which was OK, but really was too many seeds. It sort of tasted like jam on top of pound cake when it was done. But, I don't think it's fair to judge a recipe based on substitutions, so I rated the cake part, not the cake as I made it. If I had, this would have been 3 stars, not four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by India74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was delicious! I made it for my family, and they all loved it. I doubled the brown sugar and butter part, though, and used only two apples. Also, I suggest that you cook it for over 50 minutes, because mine turned out to be a little doughy in some parts. I also sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on it, and it was great! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The only reason this recipe doesn't get five stars is because one REALLY should double the butter/sugar topping. Also, as per other reviewers' advice, the sugar in the cake batter may be lessened. Other than that, this recipe is wonderful. For a more sophisticated version, use fresh pears and add 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom to the cake batter. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
it is my favorite upside down cake , i increase the butter by 1 tbsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was such a great cake, and so easy! The only change I made was to use 4 Tbls of butter instead of 3 and to use 1/2 cup of butter instead of shortening. I had all of the ingredients on hand for a short notice dessert. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Our group LOVED this warm from the oven. I am rating this based on the use of HALF the white sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, and butter replacing shortening in the cake. Very moist! The men and boys raved! I did not skimp on the butter/brown sugar topping. I did, however, double the recipe in a 13x9 pan, and turned it out onto a baking tray. I think it would be even better in 2 square or 11x7 pans, so the edges can crisp up... Heath Bar ice cream was a good accompaniment =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! I used Pineapple Rings and put Marischino Cherries in the centers but will skip the cherries next time as no one at them. My family of 5 ate all but one slice of this cake in one sitting and that was after a rather large dinner! I used butter...not a fan of Crisco. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used 4T. butter in the topping. My family requested more "goo" next time so I will double the butter and brown sugar and see how that works. I made this in my favorite cast iron skillet and it came out easily. This one is definately going in the recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Made it just as described...it tasted GREAT! We did it in muffin cups (made 16).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States