Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This cake is delicious! I've made it several times now - with apples, peaches and no fruit at all. I do adjust the recipe to use only 3/4 cup of white sugar. I also use butter instead of shortening, which I definitely recommend. It gives the cake a wonderful, rich flavor. Even my husband who doesn't really like dessert likes this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this cake with butter instead of shortening and added a dusting of cinnamon over my apples, but otherwise followed the recipe. This is outstanding -- I already have a favorite upside-down-cake recipe, but wanted to try this one because of the "pudding" name to see if there was a difference. There is -- this cake is MUCH softer and moister than a traditional upside down cake. I can't quite explain it -- it's not like it's wet or anything, but it's so moist that it is definitely a unique addition to my recipe box. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I thought this was okay. Good part was it was pretty easy to make and looked nice. Bad part is that I thought it had a weird taste. Not sure if it was too much baking powder maybe? Anyway, I would have given it 3 stars because I didn't love it but most of the people who I made it for really liked it. Anyway, one complaint about the proportions. I doubled it to make in a 9X13 but 6 apples was WAY, WAY too many. Probably 3 would have been enough. I also reduced the sugar for the cake part and it was more than enough. But that's a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
great recipe! I used pineapple instead of apples and added a little pineapple juice to the batter. Also reduced sugar to 3/4 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamr99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made this and the other reviews were right, it does not last long. My husband and my 3 children and I loved it!!! It was very moist. I did follow the recipe to a tee, and I didn't think it was too sugar-y. I didn't have any sauce or ice cream to go with but that only would of made it even better than it already was. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardne428

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
sweet and crispy outside, warm and smooth inside, love it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I just made this as per the instructions, I used frozen apple slices. Not sure what went wrong, I thought it was cooked after 40 minutes, the cake was nice and brown and tester was dry when I tried it in several places but when I turned it over onto the serving plate it was not cooked on the top, the batter was still runny. Needless to say, I salvaged what cooked parts that I could and the taste and texture were amazing. Will try it again sometime. I have been baking for 45 years and this is a first. got a good laugh and 4 small portions of desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Made with pineapple. Doubled butter & brown sugar in pan, rest as written. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This recipe is so delicious I made it twice this week already. The first time I used apples , second time I used Nectarines. Just marvelous, this recipe is a keeper, thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Amazing!! My family LOVED this and I will be making it over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States