Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Sooooooo good. It was the first time I had ever really *cooked* for my family and everyone loved it. I'm not a big fan of mushrooms, so I used peas instead, fresh marjoram rather than dried (just doubled the amount), and two pounds of russet potatoes. The final product was savoury and flavourful and juicy. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stultiloquence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really yummy, but really heavy. I mixed 2 sweet potatoes with 2 russet to make it slightly healthier and I think the sweet potato went really well with the nuttiness of the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a simple and delicious one-dish meal. It is a great way to get young children to eat their veggies. I substituted ground turkey and added a splash of Worcestershire for extra flavor. For the peas, I used a bag of seasoned frozen peas with mushrooms, which also added a lot of flavor. Added in some carrots for extra vitamins and all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Superb basic recipe that leaves lots of room for customization. I will use this recipe again, but I look forward to adding my own spin such as more meat, gravy, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very Tastey and Easy!! I did make some changes to the recipe. Trying to get my family to eat veggies is hard, so I added a can of corn. I used canned veggies because that's what I had. 2 cans of peas and 1 corn. Also added Sharp cheddar cheese to the top of the potatoes then added the extra butter on top as the last step. It made this delightful cheese crust. To Die for!! So simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious! Another favorite for my family! Really easy to make and you could even prepare most of it ahead and pop in the oven for a bit longer to warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of green peas and added canned tomato soup to the beef because it seemed dry. Easy, straightforward comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Wonderful cottage pie, reminds me of the meals I had in my British school's canteen. I followed the recipe for everything except the green peas coz I do not have them on hand. I use a bigger onion instead. I forgot to dot extra butter on top, but it still came out crisp with adequately brown. Next time, I will try other's suggestion of using some ketchup to make the source. My kids love it and it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was easy & tastey. The only thing I changed was the sugar&ketchup sauce went on the top. The leftovers made for awesome sandwiches the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States