Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Wonderful cottage pie, reminds me of the meals I had in my British school's canteen. I followed the recipe for everything except the green peas coz I do not have them on hand. I use a bigger onion instead. I forgot to dot extra butter on top, but it still came out crisp with adequately brown. Next time, I will try other's suggestion of using some ketchup to make the source. My kids love it and it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was easy & tastey. The only thing I changed was the sugar&ketchup sauce went on the top. The leftovers made for awesome sandwiches the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of green peas and added canned tomato soup to the beef because it seemed dry. Easy, straightforward comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have this in the oven right now. So easy and economical, and the great thing is you can easily modify with whatever you have on hand. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I had no peas, but I added diced carrot and green bell-pepper and layered some spinach over the meat before topping with potatoes. I also had a little hunk of Parmesan cheese in the fridge so I grated it up and mixed some into the potatoes and put the rest on top. I'm baking it for about 30 minutes rather than the 20 recommended, because it didn't seem like it was browning much. It smells great! Can't wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very Tastey and Easy!! I did make some changes to the recipe. Trying to get my family to eat veggies is hard, so I added a can of corn. I used canned veggies because that's what I had. 2 cans of peas and 1 corn. Also added Sharp cheddar cheese to the top of the potatoes then added the extra butter on top as the last step. It made this delightful cheese crust. To Die for!! So simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is wonderful!I live in Ukraine so we don't have many ingredients to use so this recipe was perfect!I added cumin and chili pepper to it!When I did the recipe the pie was not dry.Delicious!Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We made it pretty much as outlined and it was perfect. I did not have the herbes de Provence so used Thyme and Basil (dried) . The nutmeg is a very important ingredient. I cooked the peas quickly in the microwave before putting in the pie as someone had mentioned theirs were not done. Ours were perfectly cooked this way. The potatoes were great!!! I used ground sirloin and I added a tiny bit of bisto to it, not much though, don' think anyone would notice it not being there but you could put in some salt instead. (not much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious! Another favorite for my family! Really easy to make and you could even prepare most of it ahead and pop in the oven for a bit longer to warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Sooooooo good. It was the first time I had ever really *cooked* for my family and everyone loved it. I'm not a big fan of mushrooms, so I used peas instead, fresh marjoram rather than dried (just doubled the amount), and two pounds of russet potatoes. The final product was savoury and flavourful and juicy. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stultiloquence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
another easy stretch recipe for the working mother of 5. putting it in the menu mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahjo71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States