Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great! I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of green peas and added canned tomato soup to the beef because it seemed dry. Easy, straightforward comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was easy & tastey. The only thing I changed was the sugar&ketchup sauce went on the top. The leftovers made for awesome sandwiches the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Superb basic recipe that leaves lots of room for customization. I will use this recipe again, but I look forward to adding my own spin such as more meat, gravy, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Wonderful cottage pie, reminds me of the meals I had in my British school's canteen. I followed the recipe for everything except the green peas coz I do not have them on hand. I use a bigger onion instead. I forgot to dot extra butter on top, but it still came out crisp with adequately brown. Next time, I will try other's suggestion of using some ketchup to make the source. My kids love it and it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLee3268

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good, but it only needs a little HP sauce added to the meat mixture to be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I did spice it up with some extra garlic salt...i used italian spices instead of the herbs de provence and i used instant potatoes to help with time. I used frozen peas...and they cooked just fine...came out done as expected. And to make it all perfect i added shredded cheese on top. My husband and i really liked it. This is a yummy, yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
For variation: Lightly saute fresh mushrooms, onion and garlic in olive oil. Add ground beef until just brown. Drain. Add jar beef gravy and Worcester sauce to taste. Mix well. Spoon into 9" square baking dish. Cover with prepared mashed potatoes. Ring top with baby carrots. Brush with beaten egg. Bake at 350 until bubbly. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very Tastey and Easy!! I did make some changes to the recipe. Trying to get my family to eat veggies is hard, so I added a can of corn. I used canned veggies because that's what I had. 2 cans of peas and 1 corn. Also added Sharp cheddar cheese to the top of the potatoes then added the extra butter on top as the last step. It made this delightful cheese crust. To Die for!! So simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We made it pretty much as outlined and it was perfect. I did not have the herbes de Provence so used Thyme and Basil (dried) . The nutmeg is a very important ingredient. I cooked the peas quickly in the microwave before putting in the pie as someone had mentioned theirs were not done. Ours were perfectly cooked this way. The potatoes were great!!! I used ground sirloin and I added a tiny bit of bisto to it, not much though, don' think anyone would notice it not being there but you could put in some salt instead. (not much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Must try--sounds authentic form my experience; glad there's no tomoato sauce/paste. I think ideally, though, I would substitute carrots for the peas to make this a Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States