Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Lovley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this last night for me and my daughters. The only things I changed were to add 1/2 teaspoons dried beef base, then I didn't have herbs de provence, so I simply added thyme, basil and savory (didn't have fennel). Last, I used sliced baby carrots instead of peas, simply because I don't like peas! I agree, the nutmeg is a must, it adds a fantastic flavor. Next week will be trying it with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Three stars because there is no cream of XXX soup, but that might have been the best part of this recipe. I too found it to be very bland and a little dry. May try again and deviate from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I add mushrooms, onions, (random other veggies like carrots and corn), and every spice in my cabinet. Everyone loves this meal when I cook it. EVERYONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was awesome! I just made it and my b/f thought it was great too. Made a couple changes based on previous reviews: added 1 Tbsp. ketchup, 2 tsp. A-1 sauce, 2 dashes of Worchestershire sauce, and a splash of Rooster (hot) sauce. I was lazy so used Idahoan Butter & Herb instant potatoes and sprinkled the top with a little paprika. Yum! So good! The herbs de Provence and nutmeg really revved up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeeFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good, but it only needs a little HP sauce added to the meat mixture to be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I did spice it up with some extra garlic salt...i used italian spices instead of the herbs de provence and i used instant potatoes to help with time. I used frozen peas...and they cooked just fine...came out done as expected. And to make it all perfect i added shredded cheese on top. My husband and i really liked it. This is a yummy, yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I thought this was bland and dry. Followed recipe except I used cauliflower instead of peas. I liked the garlic in the mashed potatoes. Will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was very good! I put shredded cheese on top for more flavor. I didn't have Herbs de Provence or nutmeg, so I just used thyme and it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We made it pretty much as outlined and it was perfect. I did not have the herbes de Provence so used Thyme and Basil (dried) . The nutmeg is a very important ingredient. I cooked the peas quickly in the microwave before putting in the pie as someone had mentioned theirs were not done. Ours were perfectly cooked this way. The potatoes were great!!! I used ground sirloin and I added a tiny bit of bisto to it, not much though, don' think anyone would notice it not being there but you could put in some salt instead. (not much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States