Cottage Noodles and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This recipes is delicious. I made minor modifications -- cooked the cabbage and onions till very soft, used 2 cups cottage cheese, and added 1 lb. sliced, browned, & drained turkey kielbasa. It was a very good main dish. My husband (who's not very fond of cabbage) had two BIG servings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
When I make this I use the bow tie pasta.It is a bit firmer and stands well with the cabbage.Also does not sog down when reheated. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
substitute wide egg noodles-homemade is the best!. i grew up eating this-very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
What a great combination. The sauce is so creamy! I have made this recipe 3 times, It really goes well with the Garlic herb grilled Pork Tenderloin recipe published by Party Chef, another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was add a couple cloves of garlic to the cabbage saute...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
What a flavorful dish. The cabbage and noodles are marked as a sidedish, but truthfully, I would like it for a main dish! The cottage cheese makes a creamy, lower-fat alternative to cream cheese. Very flavorful with a crunchy bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was delicious! I've made something similar before, but not quite like this. The cottage cheese really makes it good, but yet you hardly notice it's in there. The whole family gave it a "thumbs up!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I tweeked this a little by adding fresh garlic and unsalted butter to the cabbage and onions. I too added 2 cups cottage cheese and then some shredded parmesan cheese after it was heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My Ukrainian grandmother "Baba" made this too. Instead ogf spaghetti noodles, she made her own egg noodles. It was delicious. When she left the cottage cheese out, she called it "Haluski." Mom made it at home and when in a hurry, she used stor bought egg noodles. We ate it as a side dish without the cottage cheese. If it had the cottage cheese in it, it was the main course with a piece of coursely sliced home-made Ukrainian bread (paska.) Yum---comfort food. The above recipe is easy to follow and very close to my Baba's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerFay
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good! I did make a few changes. I used egg noodles, and even though I made the whole pound, I found I only needed a little more than half. I omitted the sugar, and added some caraway seeds. These were delicious in there! I probably used about a cup and a half of cottage cheese. Had it with grilled brats, hubby and I both loved it! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krglvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States