Cottage Noodles and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Almost as good as Babcia's...but nothing is as good as a Babcia can cook. We used bow tie pasta because we had it, but the rest was as written. Just what we wanted...a taste of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Big 411: 16oz spaghetti = 3c. 4oz medium noodles = 3c. Soooo, if you're thinking of adding a pound of egg noodles, etc, you're in for a lot of pasta - & that additional cup of cottage cheese that is mentioned several times in the reviews. I used 4 oz egg noodles & the one cup. It was enough, but more would've been fine, too. 'Not the prettiest dish; but I liked it, didn't love it. 'Don't think the sugar is really a haveto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was very, very bland. I added some ham and pesto to the sauteed cabbage and onion. We ate it for dinner, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Follansbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We loved this simple dish of pasta, cabbage and onions. I went looking for a side to go with 'Meatloaf with a Bite' from AR and found this recipe in my box. It was exactly what I was looking for and the finished product went nicely with the meatloaf. I used cavatappi pasta in place of the spaghetti noodles, but kept everything else the same. I also served 'Creamy Kale Salad' from AR, but this is the dish that stole the show at dinner tonight. Thanks, Party Chef for sharing your recipe. It will be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I tweeked this a little by adding fresh garlic and unsalted butter to the cabbage and onions. I too added 2 cups cottage cheese and then some shredded parmesan cheese after it was heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I used less margarine. Cooked the cabbage down a bit first before I added the onion. Let that cook down some more then added a diced green apple and two cloves of garlic. Used a bit more sugar. Doubled the cottage cheese- Used the creamed variety. Sliced and cooked some turkey sausage then added when everything else was done. Would use another apple and a little more garlic next time. The man added cashews to his- He liked the crunch these gave the dish. Served with "J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I used this as a base and added some chopped hot pickled peppers and a bit of cayenne to the cabbage mixture. I browned up some bratwurst and put them on top of the cabbage to finish cooking. I used eggs noodles. I added the cottage cheese and remaining butter plus a couple spoonfuls of sour cream. Forgot about the sugar and didn't seem to matter. My husband was gobbling it down and I loved it too. Thanks for the recipe - I would never have thought about combining cabbage and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My Ukrainian grandmother "Baba" made this too. Instead ogf spaghetti noodles, she made her own egg noodles. It was delicious. When she left the cottage cheese out, she called it "Haluski." Mom made it at home and when in a hurry, she used stor bought egg noodles. We ate it as a side dish without the cottage cheese. If it had the cottage cheese in it, it was the main course with a piece of coursely sliced home-made Ukrainian bread (paska.) Yum---comfort food. The above recipe is easy to follow and very close to my Baba's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerFay
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
not good, no one in my family liked it. Very bland, added alot of salt and pepper and still was bland. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is so delicious and easy to make! I made just some slight changes. Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I used 1 tablespoon olive oil and 2 tablespoons butter when cooking until tender. I then substituted low fat ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese. a sugar substitute and remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil and 2 tablespoons butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States