Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a great meatloaf recipe. In fact I still have the original card from Great American Recipes I got in the mail that it came on. If you don't want it to be mushy, use lean ground beef (90/10) and put in extra bread crumbs until you get the desired consistency. I use italian style bread crumbs. Also, for the mustard use dijon. I use 1/8 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of crushed red pepper. You may have to cook it for 50-55 minutes depending on your oven. I also double the sauce and add more brown sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This dish was a big hit with my husband! However, I made a few modifications...like suggested in a previous review, I omited the tomato juice and added worcestire instead. I used a mix of ground pork and beef, chili sauce instead of ketchup for more tang, added minced garlic and used panko (japanese breadcrumbs) instead of fresh. I doubled the sauce and replaced 2 tlbs of the brown sugar with maple syrup. It was great and not all crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
A good friend called and asked if I had a good meatloaf recipe for her husband (he's got cancer). I don't like meatloaf myself, but this looked like the reviews were good, so I gave it a shot. It was a huge hit! I served it with red mashed potatoes, broccoli in lemon butter, and chocolate cake. People are still talking about it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was my first attempt at meatloaf, and it turned out wonderful. It's also the first time I have made something that tasted better than what my mom used to make. I didn't have enough ketchup, so I used about a 1/4 cup in both the meat and the sauce and added an extra 1/4 cup of tomato juice in both to make up for it. I was worried that it would be too runny, but it wasn't. It wasn't too sweet either, and it held together really well. So good, I had seconds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
#1 Meatloaf Ever! This recipe is what brought me to allrecipes.com. I originally got it over 10 years ago in their printed cards that came in a box. For children, I only use 1/2 the red pepper flakes but don't leave out completely (adults prefer full amount). I use homemade whole wheat bread crumbs (tastes same as white but healthier). I also add 1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic but it's not necessary. Best with extra lean ground beef, which has less fat to drain. Tip: don't line loaf pan with foil as meat still sticks & it gives a tinny taste. I use parchment paper or better yet, an unlined, ungreased silicone loaf pan. I always make 2 & freeze 1, unbaked. Great with mashed potatoes & corn. Many thanks for the only meatloaf recipe my family will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is absolutely the best! Served to over 100 people at church in 12 different loaves and was asked for the recipe over and over. There were so many people that told me they didn't even like meatloaf but were only being polite, until they ate mine! This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This is my new meatloaf recipe. I omitted the tomato juice and used worstshire instead, I also used ground turkey. It was fantastic, I can't wait to get home to heat up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I found this recipe to have a good flavor, though I like my meatloaf a bit more solid. I began making it as called for, but the mixture seemed a bit too loose so I reduced the tomato juice to 1/2 cup and added another 1/2 pound of ground beef before baking. If I make it again, I'll omit the juice altogether, and use small cubes of stale bread rather than the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I love the sauce. When I made it the second time I doubled the sauce and poured some over the meat loaf when served. One of the best meat loafs I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good basic meatloaf. I replaced the pepper with Montreal steak seasoning. Very good and even my kids had seconds which they usually don't do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States