Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I didn't have any crushed red pepper when I made this so I substituted about 1/8 cup (maybe less) of the ketchup with Frank's Wing Sauce and got rave reviews from friends and family. So yummy, thanks for sharing Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowerston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent! I used a mix of ground beef & Italian sausage, added chopped onion & green pepper. The flavor was outstanding, & it was even better the next day on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
For the past 30 years, I have thrown away more meatloaves than I care to admit. Shameful for a southern boy. FINALLY, I meatloaf I adore (I do double the sauce). Now I can spend the rest of my life trying to make biscuits. My grandmother and great aunts made it looks so, never measuring anything. I am not optimistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I also have been making this meatloaf for years. I think it's only downfall is that I NEVER have any leftovers! I don't even really like the taste of ground beef, but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This meatloaf is the bomb! Everyone loves it when I make it. I am feeding 4 hungry sons and this is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaznoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good stuff-the topping makes it sweet, and the red pepper makes it spicy. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Awsome. Used Worcestershire instead of tomoato juice and will maybe add some crushed garlic next time. Cook time should probably be an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWYNES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was really looking forward to this recipe as my first meatloaf after reading all the reviews. I definitely took the advice of switching tomato juice for Worcestershire sauce and everyone was right in saying that it takes longer to cook... didn't think it would be a whole HOUR longer; and after all that, saying that it was still "moist" is an understatement. It had a great flavor but next time I'm going to eyeball the bread crumbs in because I think the whole problem was that the meat mixture wasn't at all stiff. The sauce wasn't great either. I guess I got used to my late mother's way... she never used a topping, just brown gravy and mashed potatoes. I am going to use this recipe as a "base" recipe but switcheroo it all up next time based on the experience this time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was my first time ever making meatloaf and I thought it came out quite well. I made it for my husband and his boss and they both said it was very good! I used worcestshire instead of tomato juice like others suggested. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Soto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States