Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
My first attempt at meatloaf, and it was perfect! I used Italian bread crumbs and baked for 55 minutes to an internal temperature of 160 degrees. My boyfriend ate almost half the loaf! Thanks for the recipe! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe! I am not a hug meatloaf fan but we all loved this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
#1 Meatloaf Ever! This recipe is what brought me to allrecipes.com. I originally got it over 10 years ago in their printed cards that came in a box. For children, I only use 1/2 the red pepper flakes but don't leave out completely (adults prefer full amount). I use homemade whole wheat bread crumbs (tastes same as white but healthier). I also add 1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic but it's not necessary. Best with extra lean ground beef, which has less fat to drain. Tip: don't line loaf pan with foil as meat still sticks & it gives a tinny taste. I use parchment paper or better yet, an unlined, ungreased silicone loaf pan. I always make 2 & freeze 1, unbaked. Great with mashed potatoes & corn. Many thanks for the only meatloaf recipe my family will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
For my first meatloaf, this came out awesome! Had no leftovers!! did replace the tomato juice for worcestire, a little more bread crumbs and doubled the sauce to put on top. cooked for an extra 10 mins (may just be my oven) No pink but very tender and fell apart rather easily. That wasn't a problem though! simple and delicious! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k1mposs1ble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I am not big on meatloaf but I love this! My husband and son love it too. When they ask what's for dinner and I say meatloaf they are happy. I use ground red pepper instead of the crushed red pepper. The mixture for the topping is so much better than just plain ketchup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is almost too moist. It was good, not the best I've had. Maybe better the next day as a sandwich filling. Must follow reviewers suggestion on putting the dry bread under the meat before baking, I did not. I used lean beef but after cooking the oil came up and mixed with the topping which was not tastey. Maybe I did it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My husband took one bite and said "WOW". This is our new favorite meatloaf recipe. It has just the right amount of spice and tomato. I used quick oats instead of bread crumbs, omitted the tomato juice, increased the amount of ketcup and added worchester sauce. Also used egg whites instead of whole eggs. It was absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I didn't have any crushed red pepper when I made this so I substituted about 1/8 cup (maybe less) of the ketchup with Frank's Wing Sauce and got rave reviews from friends and family. So yummy, thanks for sharing Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowerston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent! I used a mix of ground beef & Italian sausage, added chopped onion & green pepper. The flavor was outstanding, & it was even better the next day on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
For the past 30 years, I have thrown away more meatloaves than I care to admit. Shameful for a southern boy. FINALLY, I meatloaf I adore (I do double the sauce). Now I can spend the rest of my life trying to make biscuits. My grandmother and great aunts made it looks so, never measuring anything. I am not optimistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States