Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I've used this recipe for 16 years. I just recently lost the card it came on. I got it in the mail a long, long time ago. I searched online for it...luckily I remembered the name of it and when I saw the ingredients, I was ecstatic. You would think I would have the recipe down, by now, but I don't have the exact measuments memorized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Best meatloaf I ever made or ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a great easy meatloaf recipe. The sauce topping is what makes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I used ground chuck the first time I made this and it turned out saucy and sloppy. Use the LEAN MEAT!!!! It was a thousand times better. My husbands favorite comfort food from allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Cottage Meatloaf Haiku: "Pleasant and basic. Not 'firm' enough for my tastes. But we still liked it." I don't know if it was the tomato juice, or if I should've increased the bread crumbs, but my meatloaf was too moist and fall-aparty. As far as tastes go, it was still great, but definintely couldn't have translated to leftover sandwiches as it was a bit soggy crumbled. I'd make it again, but probably lose the juice and up the breadcrumbs, otherwise, a nice homey comforting meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I'm only reviewing this from the boys in this household because I do not enjoy meatloaf. They said it had good flavor and was moist. I did try one bit and agreed on the moistness. I once got advice from an old church member that said to never use lean ground beef for meatloaf so I do stick with a lower ratio ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Pretty good, but didn't hold together perfectly. The topping was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only changes I made were omitting the tomato juice, used chili sauce, Worcestershire & minced garlic (as previously suggested) and added a tad of hot sauce and Ray's BBQ sauce to make up for the tomato juice. I had 2 lbs of ground beef so I let it cook for 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Will definitely be replacing my old recipe for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious!! Very reminiscent of my grandmothers meatloaf, and almost any recipe that takes me back in time is going to rate high with me. I did cut the meatloaf portion in half, but the sauce was made as if for 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. This is my new go to recipe. Thanks much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the directions as best I could on this, but used a sweet/hot German mustard as opposed to yellow. It turned out great, but a little too mustardy for my family. Next time I'll try a milder one. Other than that, I loved it. 4 stars because I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States