Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a great meatloaf recipe. In fact I still have the original card from Great American Recipes I got in the mail that it came on. If you don't want it to be mushy, use lean ground beef (90/10) and put in extra bread crumbs until you get the desired consistency. I use italian style bread crumbs. Also, for the mustard use dijon. I use 1/8 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of crushed red pepper. You may have to cook it for 50-55 minutes depending on your oven. I also double the sauce and add more brown sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
We've made this meat loaf for decades! It really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is one of the best tasting and easiest meat loaf recipes I've ever tried. Even my food-fussy nine year old daughter loves this meatloaf. The only bad thing I could say is that it comes out very moist so I just add a little more bread crumbs and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gamingirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very good loaf!! Only change I made was to put in a very small amount of tomato juice (I'm not a fan of tomato juice)and add some worcestershire sauce. I put some dry french bread in the food processor to make the fresh bread crumbs - fresh breadcrumbs or torn up bread always better in meatloaf then those dry things you buy at the store in my opinion. Crushed saltines work well too. We all enjoyed this meatloaf alot. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this recipe . I have used a similar one for years and everyone loves it. For the glaze - Instead of using ketchup, I use an 8 oz can of tomato sauce mixed with 1/4 cup of brown sugar, I use and 1-2 tbs of mustard (to your taste). I mix half into the meatloaf mixture and pour the rest on top as a glaze. I also bake in a ring pan or bundt pan for a different presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Very good. We add fresh herbs such as sage and rosemary and it really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was an easy recipe, no fancy schmancy ingredients, just good old everyday pantry items. My husband and son loved this meatloaf. They ate almost the whole thing by themselves, there's only 2 slices left for hubby's sandwich for lunch tomorrow. I had trouble with mine falling apart even though I let it stand. I would have given this a 3 based on personal tastes (but I have my favorites here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Next time, I'll omit the tomato juice as it was too moist/wet. Otherwise it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Years ago we found this recipe on a recipe card and decided to try it. This is the best meatloaf I've ever had and we have had many people request this recipe from us over the years. Takes a little time to prep but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States