Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
i used the cayanne instead of red pepper. however, for me the crumbs just needed about 1/4 cup more. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Omg!!! SO good and not dry at all. The only change I made was instead of tomato juice I used the same amount of canned tomato sauce. Really, a big hit with my children too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Álthough it did not hold together well, this was one of the best meatloafs I have made. Super moist and super yummy. My hubby loved it! It was hard not to over eat with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Everyone loved this meatloaf. Following others' suggestions, I did eliminate the tomato juice and add a little more ketchup and 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce. I also subbed Italian Breadcrumbs for plain breadcrumbs and we left out the red pepper just because we don't like that flavor. The meatloaf was a little mushy at first, but the longer it cooler, the firmer it became. I really liked the tang the mustard gave the meatloaf and my kids loved the sauce on top. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very moist I had to cook it longer and I added cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this last night for dinner. While it tasted good, the texture was quite mushy even thiugh I cooked it longer than stated. Maybe I'll try slightly increasing the amount of bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
As is, I don't think this recipe would turn out too well. I did not make it as directed after reading the reviews of those that did. I made a few of my own substitutions. I used seasoned breadcrumbs, added 2 large garlic cloves, used Worcestershire sauce instead of tomato juice, and added basil, oregano, and parsley. This is an okay base recipe, but I certainly would not like it as much if made as directed compared to my changes. For each their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
For several years I have been trying different meat loaf recipes so I could get away from the packaged seasoning mix (my husband's favorite). My husband really liked this one. He said it had lots of flavor, and I liked the moistness. I did add chopped bell pepper because our garden has an abundance of it right now, and I added more salt and pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious! I had to substitute tomato juice with tomato soup and left out the salt because of that, but I thought it was so yummy I almost hate half the thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good recipe. I used boar meat instead of ground beef - delicious! I upped the cooking time to 50 mins, and instead of using the recommended sauce, I used a thin brushing of Hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States