Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This surpasses all previous meatloaf recipes I have used. It is the first time my husband did not put ketchup all over the top...he thought it was moist, delicious and especially flavorful. Following other readers suggestions I made a few "tweaks"..I only used brown sugar in the topping...I substuted worcestshire sauce for the brown sugar in the meatloaf itself. I also used chili sauce in place of the tomato juice. I must say the results surprised me. Try this recipe you will not be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
My husband absolutely loves this meatloaf. He boasts that he doesn't need to add ketchup when it is served. That is a great compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this recipe for my husband's birthday dinner, at his request. It was SO flavorful! The red pepper flake really gives it a kick! I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is my new favorite meat loaf recipe. I'm getting rid of all others. :) It's pretty much idiot proof, and if you don't have quite all the ingredients it's easy to make substitutions. I had no tomato juice so I used milk. (Afterward I realized I could have used tomato soup, but oh well.) And due to picky eaters, I replaced the crushed red pepper with paprika. I didn't have enough ketchup and ran out to get more while it was in the oven, so the sauce didn't go on until it was almost done. And again because of picky eaters, I stuffed one with pepper jack and one with cheddar. Still turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
My kids and I always loved this meat loaf, especially the brown sugar and ketchup topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Tolson Pugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdbNC
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Both my son and I have food allergies, so I made the following changes. I used ground Turkey instead of beef and corn bread crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs. I added a small amount of bacon chunks to the top as well and used little tins for portion control and ease of separation for school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written, it was excellent. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice and my son loves it. I read reviews first and like other viewers I also substituted, Worcester sauce for the tomato juice, and use fresh chopped garlic cloves in the recipe. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Linart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I loved this meatloaf. I love the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
this is THE BEST meatloaf ever!!! I've made it a ton of times, and so have lots of people that have tasted mine and asked for the recipe. I never have tomato juice so I always use tomato sauce or whatever sort of canned tomatoes I might have, puree them with an immersion blender. This IS super moist, as others have said, and basically falls apart as you're cutting it, but the flavor is just to die for! Maybe a bit more bread crumbs would solve that problem (I use panko if I don't have fresh) but it tastes so good that it doesn't matter if it's not cut in one solid piece. Soooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States