Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good stuff-the topping makes it sweet, and the red pepper makes it spicy. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Awsome. Used Worcestershire instead of tomoato juice and will maybe add some crushed garlic next time. Cook time should probably be an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWYNES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was really looking forward to this recipe as my first meatloaf after reading all the reviews. I definitely took the advice of switching tomato juice for Worcestershire sauce and everyone was right in saying that it takes longer to cook... didn't think it would be a whole HOUR longer; and after all that, saying that it was still "moist" is an understatement. It had a great flavor but next time I'm going to eyeball the bread crumbs in because I think the whole problem was that the meat mixture wasn't at all stiff. The sauce wasn't great either. I guess I got used to my late mother's way... she never used a topping, just brown gravy and mashed potatoes. I am going to use this recipe as a "base" recipe but switcheroo it all up next time based on the experience this time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was my first time ever making meatloaf and I thought it came out quite well. I made it for my husband and his boss and they both said it was very good! I used worcestshire instead of tomato juice like others suggested. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Soto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a little too moist for my personal taste. I substituted worcestshire sauce for the tomato juice as others suggested and I'm glad I did. The mustard was a bit too strong for my own personal tastes as well, so I will cut back on it next time. Overall, this is a good base recipe for meatloaf. I just need to make a few tweaks for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very moist and flavorful. Could have used more bread crumbs I think. The sauce on top was ok, a little too tangy for me. But it was good and even my 5 yr. old picky eater loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Everybody loved this! I made one without onions for the boys, who don't like onions, but WOW!, this is good meatloaf. Thanks to Melissa for suggesting the foil. You can form the foil on the outside of the pans, then slip the formed foil inside and it will take less fuss to make it fit. Also, prepared mustard is the yellow stuff you squirt on hot dogs. I am embarrassed to admit that I did not know that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Gunderson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
this meatloaf was very easy to make!! and my whole family loved it! my husband even said it was better than the meatloaf his mother made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elesa02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahscakes
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was fine. But it wasn't the best meat loaf I have ever had. I did not use the tomato juice. Maybe that was the problem. It did not fall apart though. My husband did not like it. But he doesn't like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States