Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I also have been making this meatloaf for years. I think it's only downfall is that I NEVER have any leftovers! I don't even really like the taste of ground beef, but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This meatloaf is the bomb! Everyone loves it when I make it. I am feeding 4 hungry sons and this is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaznoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good stuff-the topping makes it sweet, and the red pepper makes it spicy. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Awsome. Used Worcestershire instead of tomoato juice and will maybe add some crushed garlic next time. Cook time should probably be an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWYNES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was really looking forward to this recipe as my first meatloaf after reading all the reviews. I definitely took the advice of switching tomato juice for Worcestershire sauce and everyone was right in saying that it takes longer to cook... didn't think it would be a whole HOUR longer; and after all that, saying that it was still "moist" is an understatement. It had a great flavor but next time I'm going to eyeball the bread crumbs in because I think the whole problem was that the meat mixture wasn't at all stiff. The sauce wasn't great either. I guess I got used to my late mother's way... she never used a topping, just brown gravy and mashed potatoes. I am going to use this recipe as a "base" recipe but switcheroo it all up next time based on the experience this time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was my first time ever making meatloaf and I thought it came out quite well. I made it for my husband and his boss and they both said it was very good! I used worcestshire instead of tomato juice like others suggested. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeni7854

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a little too moist for my personal taste. I substituted worcestshire sauce for the tomato juice as others suggested and I'm glad I did. The mustard was a bit too strong for my own personal tastes as well, so I will cut back on it next time. Overall, this is a good base recipe for meatloaf. I just need to make a few tweaks for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very moist and flavorful. Could have used more bread crumbs I think. The sauce on top was ok, a little too tangy for me. But it was good and even my 5 yr. old picky eater loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Everybody loved this! I made one without onions for the boys, who don't like onions, but WOW!, this is good meatloaf. Thanks to Melissa for suggesting the foil. You can form the foil on the outside of the pans, then slip the formed foil inside and it will take less fuss to make it fit. Also, prepared mustard is the yellow stuff you squirt on hot dogs. I am embarrassed to admit that I did not know that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Gunderson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States