Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
#1 Meatloaf Ever! This recipe is what brought me to allrecipes.com. I originally got it over 10 years ago in their printed cards that came in a box. For children, I only use 1/2 the red pepper flakes but don't leave out completely (adults prefer full amount). I use homemade whole wheat bread crumbs (tastes same as white but healthier). I also add 1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic but it's not necessary. Best with extra lean ground beef, which has less fat to drain. Tip: don't line loaf pan with foil as meat still sticks & it gives a tinny taste. I use parchment paper or better yet, an unlined, ungreased silicone loaf pan. I always make 2 & freeze 1, unbaked. Great with mashed potatoes & corn. Many thanks for the only meatloaf recipe my family will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
For my first meatloaf, this came out awesome! Had no leftovers!! did replace the tomato juice for worcestire, a little more bread crumbs and doubled the sauce to put on top. cooked for an extra 10 mins (may just be my oven) No pink but very tender and fell apart rather easily. That wasn't a problem though! simple and delicious! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k1mposs1ble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I am not big on meatloaf but I love this! My husband and son love it too. When they ask what's for dinner and I say meatloaf they are happy. I use ground red pepper instead of the crushed red pepper. The mixture for the topping is so much better than just plain ketchup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is almost too moist. It was good, not the best I've had. Maybe better the next day as a sandwich filling. Must follow reviewers suggestion on putting the dry bread under the meat before baking, I did not. I used lean beef but after cooking the oil came up and mixed with the topping which was not tastey. Maybe I did it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My husband took one bite and said "WOW". This is our new favorite meatloaf recipe. It has just the right amount of spice and tomato. I used quick oats instead of bread crumbs, omitted the tomato juice, increased the amount of ketcup and added worchester sauce. Also used egg whites instead of whole eggs. It was absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I didn't have any crushed red pepper when I made this so I substituted about 1/8 cup (maybe less) of the ketchup with Frank's Wing Sauce and got rave reviews from friends and family. So yummy, thanks for sharing Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowerston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent! I used a mix of ground beef & Italian sausage, added chopped onion & green pepper. The flavor was outstanding, & it was even better the next day on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
For the past 30 years, I have thrown away more meatloaves than I care to admit. Shameful for a southern boy. FINALLY, I meatloaf I adore (I do double the sauce). Now I can spend the rest of my life trying to make biscuits. My grandmother and great aunts made it looks so, never measuring anything. I am not optimistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I also have been making this meatloaf for years. I think it's only downfall is that I NEVER have any leftovers! I don't even really like the taste of ground beef, but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This meatloaf is the bomb! Everyone loves it when I make it. I am feeding 4 hungry sons and this is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaznoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States