Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This will be my staple recipe for meatloaf! I love the glaze and only made a few changes to the recipe...I didn't use the foil because I used Corningware; altered the 1/2 cup ketchup to ketchup/57 Sauce; added a little garlic powder (forgot I had a fresh one on hand), Mrs. Dash and red pepper flakes. I also used 1/2 Ritz crackers and 1/2 Italian bread crumbs and tomato cocktail instead of juice, and baked for an hour instead of 45 mins. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWANNAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This meatloaf was excellent! I baked it a bit longer than called for, and I loved the crusty edges it made. The meatloaf was very moist and delicious! It is now my new meatloaf recipe. I used a meatloaf pan I bought at Walgreen's, and it worked wonderfully. No need for aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
delicious..The only changes I have made are to add 1/2 pound ground pork sausage (With sage),use 2 pounds burger, and tomato sauce rather than juice..We have even had this when company has come to dinner and they loved it as well, asked for the recipe..I also roast my potatoes in the pan with the meatloaf, I put all in a 11 by 13 pan, this makes them taste so good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANALS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Simple and effective. I'm not a great meatloaf fan, but I liked this and it was well-received. No changes to the recipe, and the consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is the most fantastic meatloaf ever, and I've tried many recipies! Since my husband is Canadian and we always have HP Sauce on hand (a close US equivalent is A1, but A1 has a bit more of a bite), I used 50/50 ketchup/HP sauce, and it was amazing! Also substituted oatmeat for the breadcrumbs (great way to sneak in the cholesterol leecher when I can). Made this twice in one week! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this with Stove Top stuffing instead of bread crumbs and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My husband said this was the best meatloaf he ever had! I left out the tomato juice because I felt like it already had enough moisture. I used herb seasoned stuffing mix instead of fresh bread crumbs. Used 93% lean beef. Texture was great and was moist. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Good flavor. I pretty much followed the recipe - I never really measure on things like this. Just added some minced garlic with the onion because, well, it's GARLIC! I would probably increase the amount of the topping next time - but I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years!! My favorite and have received many compliments. I don't use the fresh bread crumbs. Have always used 'seasoned bread crumbs' by 4C Also, recently I've been doing it half ground chicken and ground beef. I almost prefer it this way as it makes it lighter and a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent base meatloaf; instead of crushed red pepper I used 1/4 c Sweet Red Chili sauce from Trader Joe's and packaged Italian bread crumbs, and V8 Juice instead of tomato juice. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States