Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Pretty good, but didn't hold together perfectly. The topping was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only changes I made were omitting the tomato juice, used chili sauce, Worcestershire & minced garlic (as previously suggested) and added a tad of hot sauce and Ray's BBQ sauce to make up for the tomato juice. I had 2 lbs of ground beef so I let it cook for 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Will definitely be replacing my old recipe for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Hafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious!! Very reminiscent of my grandmothers meatloaf, and almost any recipe that takes me back in time is going to rate high with me. I did cut the meatloaf portion in half, but the sauce was made as if for 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. This is my new go to recipe. Thanks much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I followed the directions as best I could on this, but used a sweet/hot German mustard as opposed to yellow. It turned out great, but a little too mustardy for my family. Next time I'll try a milder one. Other than that, I loved it. 4 stars because I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
perfect meatloaf. I did omit the tomato juice, added garlic and dijon mustard as well I halved the ketchup and added half cup of BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a good recipe to use as a base recipe. I don't follow it to a T because I like adding other ingredients like bacon, hot sauce and BBQ sauce. But even alone it taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great tasting meatloaf, by far the best one I've made taste wise. However, the recipe is a little watery, so I would decrease the juice parts---I used tomato sauce instead of juice, and it was still too 'wet', so less of that. I also lined the bottom of the pan with 2 cans of whole tomatoes that I sliced in half, which made it nice =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine Ortiz Rountrey
Living In: Carolina Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was really tasty and juicy. I used Steak sauce instead of ketchup. I doubled the amount of Red Pepper and added dried Mixed Italian Herbs and some Mrs Dash seasoning. I omitted the Tomato juice as it was true what another reviewer said about the meatloaf being to 'wet'. I used 1 pound of Beef and 1/2 pound of Pork as I always find it lends any beef dish a juicy and sweetness. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was very, very good. Easy to make. I made one small change, I didn't have fresh bread crumbs, so I used half italian bread crumbs and half whole grain oatmeal (uncooked). Came out great. My husband loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States