Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very good loaf!! Only change I made was to put in a very small amount of tomato juice (I'm not a fan of tomato juice)and add some worcestershire sauce. I put some dry french bread in the food processor to make the fresh bread crumbs - fresh breadcrumbs or torn up bread always better in meatloaf then those dry things you buy at the store in my opinion. Crushed saltines work well too. We all enjoyed this meatloaf alot. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this recipe . I have used a similar one for years and everyone loves it. For the glaze - Instead of using ketchup, I use an 8 oz can of tomato sauce mixed with 1/4 cup of brown sugar, I use and 1-2 tbs of mustard (to your taste). I mix half into the meatloaf mixture and pour the rest on top as a glaze. I also bake in a ring pan or bundt pan for a different presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Very good. We add fresh herbs such as sage and rosemary and it really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was an easy recipe, no fancy schmancy ingredients, just good old everyday pantry items. My husband and son loved this meatloaf. They ate almost the whole thing by themselves, there's only 2 slices left for hubby's sandwich for lunch tomorrow. I had trouble with mine falling apart even though I let it stand. I would have given this a 3 based on personal tastes (but I have my favorites here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Next time, I'll omit the tomato juice as it was too moist/wet. Otherwise it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Years ago we found this recipe on a recipe card and decided to try it. This is the best meatloaf I've ever had and we have had many people request this recipe from us over the years. Takes a little time to prep but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I always say,I'm going to go back and rate a recipe and I never do. Well, this was the best meatloaf that I have ever had that I made it a point this time to give a review. My husband commented on this being my best meatloaf and he hopes I can duplicate it again. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand: 2 lbs of ground beef (I moved to a 9x13 pan as the 9x5 was cramped), skipped the vegetable juice, added a garlic pepper blend that I got at the wholesale club, skipped the salt & skipped the mustard. Added huge pieces of chopped onion. I also skipped adding the topping as I ran out of Ketchup. I don't think it needed it but I am sure it would taste really good. This wasn't dry as other meatloafs turn out and I was also able to cut slices easier than I usually can too. I'd make this again and again and next time try it the way it was written. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very Good, I used bison meat instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
We have made this several times and it always disappears fast. The first time I let it sit a bit before baking and it fell apart after I took it out of the oven. If you don't over mix it or delay baking too long, it is a great, tasty meatloaf! Oh yeah - it makes good cold meatloaf sandwiches, if there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States