Cottage Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have tried various meatloaf recipes over the years, but they were always "losers" to my family. But they LOVED this one. My 15 year old son ate 2 large helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This reminds me of my mom's meatloaf..I've been looking long and hard to find that! I wish I had made extra of the sauce to have on the side. The only changes I had...I didn't have tomato juice, so I used tomato sauce...and the meat I bought was prepackaged with 2/3 beef and 1/3 pork.....oh yeah..I didn't have any red pepper flakes on hand, so I dashed in about 5 shakes of Texas Pete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I served this when my whole family came to dinner. I had to double the recipe to feed them all and they ate it all. Fantastic meatloaf it got nothing but raves Thanks -johnflag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Good stuff...even better if you substitute salsa for the ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a great meatloaf recipe. In fact I still have the original card from Great American Recipes I got in the mail that it came on. If you don't want it to be mushy, use lean ground beef (90/10) and put in extra bread crumbs until you get the desired consistency. I use italian style bread crumbs. Also, for the mustard use dijon. I use 1/8 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of crushed red pepper. You may have to cook it for 50-55 minutes depending on your oven. I also double the sauce and add more brown sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
We've made this meat loaf for decades! It really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is one of the best tasting and easiest meat loaf recipes I've ever tried. Even my food-fussy nine year old daughter loves this meatloaf. The only bad thing I could say is that it comes out very moist so I just add a little more bread crumbs and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gamingirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
a little mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very good loaf!! Only change I made was to put in a very small amount of tomato juice (I'm not a fan of tomato juice)and add some worcestershire sauce. I put some dry french bread in the food processor to make the fresh bread crumbs - fresh breadcrumbs or torn up bread always better in meatloaf then those dry things you buy at the store in my opinion. Crushed saltines work well too. We all enjoyed this meatloaf alot. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this recipe . I have used a similar one for years and everyone loves it. For the glaze - Instead of using ketchup, I use an 8 oz can of tomato sauce mixed with 1/4 cup of brown sugar, I use and 1-2 tbs of mustard (to your taste). I mix half into the meatloaf mixture and pour the rest on top as a glaze. I also bake in a ring pan or bundt pan for a different presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States