Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
One of the best breads I have made with my bread machine. Excellent flavor and texture. I used butter instead of margarine and dill weed instead of dill seed and like others suggested used 1.5 teaspoons of yeast instead of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I've been making this bread for years, delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Before the final rise, either in the bread machine or in the casserole , lightly spray the dough with Pam or lightly coat with oil of your choice and lightly sprinkle with Kosher salt (or sea salt). You may also sprinkle with dill weed as well. Bake as usual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I prefer to use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of fresh chopped dill and I bake it in the oven (as I don't have a bread maker). I also use 1 whole stick of butter, 1 whole cup of cottage cheese, and I add 3-4 tablespoons of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The other commenter is right...1-1/2 Tbsp of yeast is waaay too much. Maybe 2 tsp. or 1 Tbsp. I also adjust it using a non-bread machine recipe I've made for decades, adding 1 egg, less water (1/2 cup), 1-1/2 Tbsp. sugar. It comes out wonderful! If you use the 1-1/2 Tbps yeast, just make the dough, when done, put into 2 bread pans to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a classic bread to be served with traditional Russian cuisine. I sub sour cream for the cottage cheese, dill weed for the dill seed use 2.25 t of yeast and use fresh minced onion. It's perfect every time and the whole house smells wonderful. Great with borsch, pelmeni, or with salo and onions/ garlic. Every time I serve it, people either ask for the recipe or ask me make a loaf for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was a very delicious bread that I'm sure I will make again. With 1 1/2 TEASPOONS of yeast, it still fell some and I will make some alterations next time. I also used dill weed instead of seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I'm used to this bread being a little bit sweet. This didn't have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this recipe but I really believe the yeast measurement is a typo. It should be 1 1/2 TEASPOONS of yeast, not tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We got a light fluffy loaf with great flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States