Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Why not include recipe directions for those of us who do not have a bread machine??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Waaay back in the '70s, this recipe really made the rounds, only we baked it in a casserole dish! Because I already knew it was delicious, I wanted to try this recipe with the bread machine method. Still delicious! Very moist, and subtley flavored by the dill seed (from last summer's garden!). I had to substitute 1 tsp. onion powder for the minced dried onion and, while it was good, I think I like it with the minced dried onion better so I'll be sure to add it to my grocery list. Might be good with minced fresh onion too! Also, the amount of yeast seemed excessive--I used 2 tsp. of bread machine yeast and I had a perfectly risen loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Awesome bread!!! I found this recipe because I needed to use up some cottage cheese. I don't know why eveyone is saying that this is a "half-risen loaf of bread", because mine rose so much I had to poke it down a little! I used allot less yeast, 2 tsp (which is what my bread maker usually calls for, so I went with the usual trend). Also to have yeast rise your bread, you must keep the liquids that you add a little on the warm side; hence, do not put in refridgerater temperature cottage cheese - warm it up in the microwave a little. I hope this helps those a little who can't get their bread to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe has a typo: Use teaspoons of yeast, not tablespoons. Have made this bread about 5 times. I have subbed plain yogurt, sour cream, cr. cheese in place of the cottage cheese. Also, I double the dill (I use dill weed instead of seed) and omit the onion. Awesome bread, delicious, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and dried dillweed instead of seed, and just used the dough cycle on the bread machine. Then I shaped into twelve dinner rolls, sprinkled with water and baked on a sheet dusted with cornmeal at 375 for about 15 minutes. Ended up with these wonderful rustic, crusty rolls. Will definitely make again - with probably both dillweed and seed next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Perfect! I love this bread! I had fresh dill on hand, so I used it instead of dried dill. This bread is moist and full of flavor. This is the second time I have made bread from scratch, and am impressed by how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Remember to save your dill seeds at the end of the season. This is a treat during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I loved this recipe. The bread turned out very flavorful and moist because of the cottage cheese, but you can't even tell there's cottage cheese in it! Easy to prepare too. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I was very pleased with this recipe. As expected, this created a very aromatic and flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very simple. I used my Kitchen Aid to make this bread which helped a bit. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and sugar in the mixer bowl for ten minutes. After the ten minutes, I added the melted butter(I don't often cook with margerine, so I don't keep it on hand. I like the taste of butter better.) and cottage cheese and mixed it well with the paddle before adding in all the dry ingredients I wisked together. No dill seed, I used about a 1/2 tsp of dill weed and I'm currently out of dried minced onion, so I used 1 tsp. onion powder. I did add about a tbsp. of oil after all the dry ingredients were combined to help the dough form into a ball and to get it to jump on the hook. I let the hook knead the dough for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl covered with a Cover-Up for about an hour. After the hour, I formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again in the loaf pan for another hour or so. I baked it for about 25 minutes at 350*, which is when it smelled done. I snuck a piece......VERY GOOD. I like it's uniqueness. I plan on serving it with Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States