Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Why not include recipe directions for those of us who do not have a bread machine??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Waaay back in the '70s, this recipe really made the rounds, only we baked it in a casserole dish! Because I already knew it was delicious, I wanted to try this recipe with the bread machine method. Still delicious! Very moist, and subtley flavored by the dill seed (from last summer's garden!). I had to substitute 1 tsp. onion powder for the minced dried onion and, while it was good, I think I like it with the minced dried onion better so I'll be sure to add it to my grocery list. Might be good with minced fresh onion too! Also, the amount of yeast seemed excessive--I used 2 tsp. of bread machine yeast and I had a perfectly risen loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Awesome bread!!! I found this recipe because I needed to use up some cottage cheese. I don't know why eveyone is saying that this is a "half-risen loaf of bread", because mine rose so much I had to poke it down a little! I used allot less yeast, 2 tsp (which is what my bread maker usually calls for, so I went with the usual trend). Also to have yeast rise your bread, you must keep the liquids that you add a little on the warm side; hence, do not put in refridgerater temperature cottage cheese - warm it up in the microwave a little. I hope this helps those a little who can't get their bread to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe has a typo: Use teaspoons of yeast, not tablespoons. Have made this bread about 5 times. I have subbed plain yogurt, sour cream, cr. cheese in place of the cottage cheese. Also, I double the dill (I use dill weed instead of seed) and omit the onion. Awesome bread, delicious, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and dried dillweed instead of seed, and just used the dough cycle on the bread machine. Then I shaped into twelve dinner rolls, sprinkled with water and baked on a sheet dusted with cornmeal at 375 for about 15 minutes. Ended up with these wonderful rustic, crusty rolls. Will definitely make again - with probably both dillweed and seed next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Perfect! I love this bread! I had fresh dill on hand, so I used it instead of dried dill. This bread is moist and full of flavor. This is the second time I have made bread from scratch, and am impressed by how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Remember to save your dill seeds at the end of the season. This is a treat during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I loved this recipe. The bread turned out very flavorful and moist because of the cottage cheese, but you can't even tell there's cottage cheese in it! Easy to prepare too. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I was very pleased with this recipe. As expected, this created a very aromatic and flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I love this bread. Very easy and goes with a lot of different kinds of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States