Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
A fantastic recipe..soon to be a tradition at our Thanksgiving get togethers. A fall harvest for your taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Wonderful recipe--DH is crazy about it! I substitute dill weed for the seed and milk for the water and powdered milk. I also add a teaspoon of minced garlic (the kind that comes in a jar) for even more flavor. Still working on ways to get it to rise a little better, but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Absolutely excellent recipe and can substitute dill seed with dill weed for a delightfull flavor. Great toasted with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very moist and flavorful. I don't like cottage cheese, so I swear I could taste it, probably in my mind. DH liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Awesome bread!!! I found this recipe because I needed to use up some cottage cheese. I don't know why eveyone is saying that this is a "half-risen loaf of bread", because mine rose so much I had to poke it down a little! I used allot less yeast, 2 tsp (which is what my bread maker usually calls for, so I went with the usual trend). Also to have yeast rise your bread, you must keep the liquids that you add a little on the warm side; hence, do not put in refridgerater temperature cottage cheese - warm it up in the microwave a little. I hope this helps those a little who can't get their bread to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This recipe resulted in a short dense loaf. It will be difficult to get 12 servings out of it. The crust was a little too hard and crunchy for my liking but the flavour was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This bread was good but I didn't love it. I may try it again though to make sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
We love this bread I've given out the recipe 3 times! my hubby hates cottage cheese so, as long as he never sees me making this, he will continue to enjoy it too lol. I use dill weed rather than seed. big favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This recipe makes a wonderfully tasty bread with a high rise and good crumb. Nice dense texture. In place of the margarine, I used 2T garlic flavored olive oil which imparted a very subtle garlic flavor. Combined with the dill, onion, and cottage cheese, Yummy! This hearty loaf is a definite keeper.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
The bread is quite flavorful but it rose only halfway. That's because I live at high altitude and the recipe doesn't offer the necessary adjustments for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States