Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I love this bread. Instead of the Dill I used 2 Tbl. of fresh chives. I've gotten rave reviews from all the people with whom I've shared this loaf. Now I have to make another one just for me. Everything has to be at room temp. for the loaf to raise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
A fantastic recipe..soon to be a tradition at our Thanksgiving get togethers. A fall harvest for your taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Wonderful recipe--DH is crazy about it! I substitute dill weed for the seed and milk for the water and powdered milk. I also add a teaspoon of minced garlic (the kind that comes in a jar) for even more flavor. Still working on ways to get it to rise a little better, but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Absolutely excellent recipe and can substitute dill seed with dill weed for a delightfull flavor. Great toasted with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very moist and flavorful. I don't like cottage cheese, so I swear I could taste it, probably in my mind. DH liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Awesome bread!!! I found this recipe because I needed to use up some cottage cheese. I don't know why eveyone is saying that this is a "half-risen loaf of bread", because mine rose so much I had to poke it down a little! I used allot less yeast, 2 tsp (which is what my bread maker usually calls for, so I went with the usual trend). Also to have yeast rise your bread, you must keep the liquids that you add a little on the warm side; hence, do not put in refridgerater temperature cottage cheese - warm it up in the microwave a little. I hope this helps those a little who can't get their bread to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This recipe resulted in a short dense loaf. It will be difficult to get 12 servings out of it. The crust was a little too hard and crunchy for my liking but the flavour was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This bread was good but I didn't love it. I may try it again though to make sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
We love this bread I've given out the recipe 3 times! my hubby hates cottage cheese so, as long as he never sees me making this, he will continue to enjoy it too lol. I use dill weed rather than seed. big favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This recipe makes a wonderfully tasty bread with a high rise and good crumb. Nice dense texture. In place of the margarine, I used 2T garlic flavored olive oil which imparted a very subtle garlic flavor. Combined with the dill, onion, and cottage cheese, Yummy! This hearty loaf is a definite keeper.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States