Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
The cheese and dill (I used dill weed) made this bread so fragrant and flavorful. I didn't make it in the breadmachine (baked at 350F for about 45 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I had some cottage cheese nearing exp date and found this recipe to use it up. I used chives instead of onions and dill weed instead of seeds and turned out so pretty. It got thumbs up all the way around the table. I'm planning to make another loaf tomorrow to use up the rest of the cottage cheese. I don't have a bread machine so I just used traditional mixing, kneading and rising methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
My bread collapsed during baking and did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I love this bread. Instead of the Dill I used 2 Tbl. of fresh chives. I've gotten rave reviews from all the people with whom I've shared this loaf. Now I have to make another one just for me. Everything has to be at room temp. for the loaf to raise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
A fantastic recipe..soon to be a tradition at our Thanksgiving get togethers. A fall harvest for your taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Wonderful recipe--DH is crazy about it! I substitute dill weed for the seed and milk for the water and powdered milk. I also add a teaspoon of minced garlic (the kind that comes in a jar) for even more flavor. Still working on ways to get it to rise a little better, but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Absolutely excellent recipe and can substitute dill seed with dill weed for a delightfull flavor. Great toasted with bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very moist and flavorful. I don't like cottage cheese, so I swear I could taste it, probably in my mind. DH liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Awesome bread!!! I found this recipe because I needed to use up some cottage cheese. I don't know why eveyone is saying that this is a "half-risen loaf of bread", because mine rose so much I had to poke it down a little! I used allot less yeast, 2 tsp (which is what my bread maker usually calls for, so I went with the usual trend). Also to have yeast rise your bread, you must keep the liquids that you add a little on the warm side; hence, do not put in refridgerater temperature cottage cheese - warm it up in the microwave a little. I hope this helps those a little who can't get their bread to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This recipe resulted in a short dense loaf. It will be difficult to get 12 servings out of it. The crust was a little too hard and crunchy for my liking but the flavour was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States