Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This bread has such a wonderful aroma while baking. The dill & onion provide a delicate flavor, and the texture is tender and just slightly chewy at the crust. I used onion powder in place of the onion and dill weed as well as dill seed, and butter instead of margarine. We ate it for sandwiches and just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
this was very good. i substituted one cup whole wheat flour and reduced white flour a small amount. i made it by hand instead of bread machine also. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Changed the yeast to 2 tsp. and otherwise made as stated. Very good bread. The cottage cheese gives a delicious chewy texture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe has a typo: Use teaspoons of yeast, not tablespoons. Have made this bread about 5 times. I have subbed plain yogurt, sour cream, cr. cheese in place of the cottage cheese. Also, I double the dill (I use dill weed instead of seed) and omit the onion. Awesome bread, delicious, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Excellent recipe with a bowl of hot homemade soup or on it's own with butter. Very simple to make and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is an excellent bread machine recipe with or without the dill seed. Makes a very light fluffy loaf that is adaptable (we have used fennel seed instead of dill but I think pretty much any combo of herbs or seeds would work). My family loves a light lunch of a nice Jersey tomato on dill bread with just a smidge of mayo. Note: I also assumed yeast measurement should be teaspoons not tablespoons and all worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
i found that although this bread was very moist with a good crust, it was rather lacking in flavor. not the best iv tried. also, i changed the 1 and 1/2 tablespoon yeast to teaspoon as i figured it was a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
There was something about the taste of the bread that everyone was not thrilled with. My eldest son did not like the bread at all and he is the big bread eater in the house. Thanks for letting us try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is one of my many favorites,I use this one as gifts alot and makes a good bowl W/dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I wasn't all that pleased with the taste of this bread and the texture just didn't seem right to me.I doubt that I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States