Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I have this same recipe in my bread machine cookbook, although the directions are to make the dough, turn it out and shape into an an Italian/French Bread type loaf. It says to let rise, then bake in an oven for about 350 (I'm too lazy to look it up, but most bread bakes at 350) for 30 minutes. It's very good. Took it with us when we went up to bf's parents and everyone loved it. It is good, easy, and uses up some of that cottage cheese. I didn't use minced onion; substituted garlic instead. For those of you who would prefer to make it by hand and need some direction, check out the tips and advice on this site. There is a bread making tutorial that should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Waaay back in the '70s, this recipe really made the rounds, only we baked it in a casserole dish! Because I already knew it was delicious, I wanted to try this recipe with the bread machine method. Still delicious! Very moist, and subtley flavored by the dill seed (from last summer's garden!). I had to substitute 1 tsp. onion powder for the minced dried onion and, while it was good, I think I like it with the minced dried onion better so I'll be sure to add it to my grocery list. Might be good with minced fresh onion too! Also, the amount of yeast seemed excessive--I used 2 tsp. of bread machine yeast and I had a perfectly risen loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is my absolutely favorite bread - so delicious - I would have actually given it for stars, because my bread machine will not bake it - it falls every time. I've tried everything - less yeast, less sugar, less salt, everything. Since I believe it's my bread machine and not the recipe, I still gave it 5 stars. I just put it in the bread machine on the dough cycle, and then take it out and let it rise again and bake it as if I had done all the work myself. Absolutely scrumptious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this by hand and followed Lynn in HK's advice and cooked it at 350 for 45 minutes and it turned out perfect. This is the perfect sandwich bread! It's soft on the inside, but doesn't fall apart, and the crust is nice and sturdy without being too hard. The flavor of the fresh dill seeds from my garden tasted just fabulous in the bread! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
very nice bread, only thing was i used butter and dill weed instead of seed. Good bread for everything, sandwichs, toast with cheese etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I LOVE this bread. Fresh it is wonderful and toasted, if there is any left, just as good. I have not felt the need to change anything, except on accasion increase the onion and dill by 1/2. But it is easy, fast and a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This bread has such a wonderful aroma while baking. The dill & onion provide a delicate flavor, and the texture is tender and just slightly chewy at the crust. I used onion powder in place of the onion and dill weed as well as dill seed, and butter instead of margarine. We ate it for sandwiches and just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
this was very good. i substituted one cup whole wheat flour and reduced white flour a small amount. i made it by hand instead of bread machine also. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Changed the yeast to 2 tsp. and otherwise made as stated. Very good bread. The cottage cheese gives a delicious chewy texture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe has a typo: Use teaspoons of yeast, not tablespoons. Have made this bread about 5 times. I have subbed plain yogurt, sour cream, cr. cheese in place of the cottage cheese. Also, I double the dill (I use dill weed instead of seed) and omit the onion. Awesome bread, delicious, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States