Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Yum, yum, yum!! Loved the flavor and it was very moist. I used 1 1/2 - 2 Tbsp dillweed instead of seed and changed the amount of yeast to 2 tsp. as others had recommended. Used the basic bread, light crust setting. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
A wonderful bread! I don't have a bread machine, so here's how I made mine (I doubled it to make 2 loaves) 1 1/3 cups water, 1 1/3 cups cottage cheese, 1/4 cup butter. Heat these ingredients in the microwave until the butter melts and mixture reaches 105 to 110 degrees F. In large bowl mix: 6 cups bread flour, 2 tablespoons white sugar, 2 tablespoons dry milk powder, 2 tablespoons minced onion (I used fresh), 2 tablespoons dill, 2 teaspoons salt, 1 tablespoon instant yeast. Add warmed wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well. Kneed until smooth, about 5 minutes. Place dough in well oiled bowl, turning the dough once to oil the top. Cover with a damp towel and let rise in a warm place for about 1 hour or until the dough has doubled in size. Punch down and divide in half. Form 2 loaves and place in greased loaf pans. Allow to rise another hour or until doubled in size. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Remove from loaf pan immediately and cool on wire rack. Voila! Made really great grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
When I was growing up my mom made a bread like this really often. She would use chopped chives in the spring and fresh dill weed in the summer.This recipe brings back lots of childhood memories and it will be a nice addition to meals for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent bread, but 2 tsp of yeast is enough. I was out of dill and powdered milk, so I used part water/part milk and substituted chive for the dill. I made half the dough into pan rolls and half into a small braided loaf. I liked the rolls best and will made them again. The second time, I ran out of cottage cheese, so I used part cottage cheese and part sour cream. It still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I loved this bread. Without a doubt the lightest, fluffiest bread to come out of my bread machine. I think the cottage cheese is that "special something" that makes the bread so light and flavourful. Like other reviewers have mentioned, you need to reduce the yeast to 2tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I tried this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. It was perfect with the marinated chicken breasts and veggies. I used a combination of dill weed and dill seeds. Of course, I used 1 1/2 teaspoons (not Tablespoons) of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the only bread recipe that will rise for me every time. I used dill weed instead of dill seed, and it turned out fantastic. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe was amazing. It taste just right, I butter the crust with butter and dill mixture. This is a keeper. I just add everything to the kitchenaid and use the good old rise and double method. Didn't have dry powder milk, instead of water used 2/3 cups of milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and dried dillweed instead of seed, and just used the dough cycle on the bread machine. Then I shaped into twelve dinner rolls, sprinkled with water and baked on a sheet dusted with cornmeal at 375 for about 15 minutes. Ended up with these wonderful rustic, crusty rolls. Will definitely make again - with probably both dillweed and seed next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Did not use machine, made this by hand. The amount of yeast should probably be cut in half, and it would have been much better. A packet of yeast is 2 1/4 tsp, so doubled is 4 1/2 tsp, or 1 1/2 T. A typical loaf of bread uses 1 packet yeast. I'll try it again using 1/2 the amount of yeast called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States